Rambling and Writing

in #newyear6 years ago

The year so far has gotten off to busy start. I started the year with good intentions, not New Year’s resolutions; I gave that up years ago. One of the things that were right on top of my list was more Steemit posts; unfortunately quite the opposite has occurred. The beginning of the year was very eventful, my daughter and her family made the long trip from New Zealand to visit us. It had been ten years since we had seen them last. We were all so excited and overjoyed to see them that the time went by so fast that when it was time for them to leave we couldn’t believe that time had passed so quickly. It is so sad that the reality in South Africa today is that most families seem to be split up with many having loved ones far away.

foreign-trade-62743_960_720.jpg
Image - Pixabay

The New Year also brought a rethink of where we stood financially. Steemit has been good and many a tight situation has been resolved by cashing in a few Steem Dollars. I wish I could carry this message forward with more effect, I still get disbelieving looks and often I feel as though I am trying to sell a pyramid scheme or some other dodgy enterprise. I have realised that in the end it is their decision but I still want to shout it from the roof-tops.

crowdfunding-3158320_960_720.png
Image - Pixabay

The beginning of the year is always a busy time, renewing car licenses, post boxes, reviewing insurance and generally getting the next year organised. I also tend to procrastinate so trying to find excuses for why it has taken so long to write probably won’t wash.
It is now nearing the end of February, today I have an online book auction, and this will take up at least four hours. Luckily it starts at 1400 hours so I have some time to write this post. I enjoy online auctions; every minute one item closes, late bids (three minutes before the item closes) extends the closing time by three minutes. Being an online bookseller, I am always hunting for stock at a good price. My son-in-law visits auctions and buys in bulk. I am very grateful to him for allowing me first choice on what he gets. I have always enjoyed books; I even enjoy the smell of old books. When I was still working (I am a pensioner) I spent my working career in the technical field, these days the closest I get to being a technician is changing a plug or fixing the florescent lights in my store room.

book-1659717_960_720.jpg
Image - Pixabay

I know that this has been a rambling post but I will be writing more often in the future. I was going to try for a post per day but it all depends on how my day and mood shapes up.

Sort:  

Welcome back! I am looking forward to read the posts you are talking about!