NEXDOCK 360, THE FUTURE DOCKING STATION

in #nexdock2 years ago

I had the discussion with a close associate of mine in late 2019 about phones having docking stations. This all came about accidentally d​uring a deskside support backfill position. I plugged my phone into what I thought was an oversized charging brick but then a message came up on my phone about Samsung Dex. I proceeded to enable it and saw an entire screen pop up on the monitor that I was looking at. I was quick to recognized a Linux looking desktop environment in my face. I was intrigued and looked into Samsung Dex deeper. I found out later on that the Samsung Dex team stopped proceeding with the project, link here:

https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_is_discontinuing_linux_support_on_dex-news-39713.php

Not sure why; not sure if that's the case still because it's towards future of device operations. Back to speaking with my associate, I told him that this is the future. Think of all the devices that could be built around the phone. People are dawning away from desktops. In fact, they are becoming smaller a.k.a thin clients. Laptops are getting thinner and lighter. Technology is getting thinner and more mobile. What is best representation of that in everyones pocket? These phones are becoming powerful enough to outperform some low end laptops. The focus is to build devices and software around the mobile phone. There are some limitations on the software side considering interoperability. This is a topic for another blog post. For now, years later, the Nexdock is in my possession.

Nexdock Shipping box.jpg

NexDock - initial box opening.jpg

Nexdock top finish.jpg

Mobile device hooked to NexDock.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @menoze! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 22
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!