You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Open Letter to the Developers of Next Colony

in #nextcolony5 years ago

I do check the Discord channel regularly. The developers make announcements upon occasion but really do not engage or listen to their users. Their most recent update was to add some missing graphics and to say that the reward system was now designed (with zero details) but needed to be coded. What have we seen over the past months besides Research Centers, new Transports and Explorer IIs? Each of those should have been a weekly update. If you consider "phoning it in" as not "cutting and running", then I'll concede the specific point -- but I will insist they are killing their own game due to lack of attention and lack of engagement with their players.

Sort:  

Heh. I didn't mean to come across as "outrage". I was trying more for "disbelief" and "disappointment".

I also believe that the developers have good intentions -- but that they aren't quite sure what to do at this point (in many ways). My concern is that, instead of working with their community, they are retreating into justifications and excuses (which are markedly different from reasons in that they are used for giving up rather than seeking alternatives).

Opening up the source code is, I believe, a viable alternative that doesn't eliminate their ability to be compensated for their past and future efforts. If they do pull out of their down moment, that is another viable alternative -- but their communications indicate that they don't view it that way.

And, in any event, I really believe that time is running out for something to happen.