Applying to the NFT Whitelist

in #nft3 years ago

temp.png

I decided to apply to both the Lensy and NFTShowroom white list. I confess, I am more interested in figuring out how to integrate web sites with the NFT world than I am in promoting my work.

The truth is ... I have never liked self-promotion. Creating and selling NFTs is the ultimate act of self-promotion.

My real passion is system design. I want to find ways to help people at large engage in the arts. I have a long history of helping independent artists develop web sites and have helped develop community based art projects.

So, as part of my application, I bought another bargain basement NFT to add to my gallery . The piece is an animated gif titled Touch to Art by @gulia.peito . In this listing, Gulia is selling 30 editions at 3 HIVE a piece.

I find the large edition to be an intriguing strategy as I think the approach will get the image included in more galleries. Because there are many tokens for the piece, it might be easier to resell when the piper comes to call and I need to raise cash to make bail.

I immediately relisted the piece for 5 HIVE.

I relist all of the NFTs I purchase because I want my gallery to be an active gallery. My application page shows that I have purchased 8 pieces so far and resold 4.

IMHO, NFTShowroom should actively encourage trading of NFTs. Unfortunately, the site has an absurd commission structure. They take a 10% commission on sales. This suppresses resell activity.

But lets get back to my NFTShowroom application. As part of the application, I created a page to detail my activities on NFTShowroom. The page says that I am currently developing two two art projects. The first is called "JuggleArt" the second is called "The Infinite Doodle."

I started the JuggleArt project a few decades ago. It is just a way to trade art prints. I think the Infinite Doodle will be more interesting.

The infinite doodle is an community based art project where people create inter-connected tiles. I announced the project last year but had to put it on hold for COVID19.

The original design of the project went as follows: People would draw a picture and take a photograph. My web site would piece together the photographs. I found that creating the images took a really long time. The images I created did not fit together well.

I also had a big technical problem. I wanted to convert the doodles into vector images. The software I used to create the vector images created really confusing SVG.

I decided to redesign the infinite doodle. In the new design I will start each of the tiles with an SVG image. The SVG image will have the basic structure for the doodle. I will print out the SVG and then draw the full doodle to match the SVG.

People who have studied computer graphics know that it is relatively easy to convert a Vector image into a raster image, but it is a bear to convert a raster image into a vector image. My new design of the project will create an iterative process that includes both computer graphics and traditional drawing techniques.

I think that this process will create some interesting imagery. I want to do a great deal of experimentation before publishing the first images.

Once I have the basic design in place, I hope to be able to give tiles to the public. I hope to create a structure where anyone could add a tile to the infinite doodle.

The infinite doodle is intended to be a collaborative art project. I do not intend to list every tile as an NFT. However, it is likely that a few of the pieces would warrant listing on an NFT site. What I will probably do is only list tiles that art patrons are specifically interested in purchasing.

Anyway, I hope NFTshowroom approves my application.

I would love to hear comments from the creative coin community about the infinite doodle project. I started the project last year but decided that the initial design consumed too much time. My new design will work as follows. I will create an SVG image with the starting layout of the doodle on a tile. People could print out the basic layout then complete a doodle based on the layout. When they upload their picture it should fit into the overall infinite doodle.

Sort:  

Interesting hearing about the process... also i decided to buy that edition you bought and put up for sale.

Thank you so much for buying my art!
I read about your project, in seems exiting!
I have same problem with SVG. Try soft Vector Magic Desktop Edition!

gulia.peito#9612 - my discord. Write me and I send you archive with this soft.