Bad Roads -The burial trip (1)

in #nigeria5 years ago

Mrs. Nworgu is like a mother to me even though we work in the same organisation. She has made a lot of positive impact in my life and family.

Recently she lost her mother. And coincidentally the service of songs was the same date as my son's churching. So I made up my mind to attend the burial which would take place at her home town in Nkwerre in Imo State.

Strangely, on the date of the burial which happens to be today, I had an emergency which took me out of the house very early in the morning. A story I'll tell another day. So on my way back to the office, the buses taking my colleagues to the burial had left. I made up my mind to go by public transport.

Now, the road from Enugu where we reside and work to Owerri, Imo State has not been smooth. Its been characterised by several bad spots. This has been the case for many years. Long ago when it wasn't as bad as it is now, it used to take 2 hours to move from Enugu to Owerri. But now it takes about 3 hours or more. This is because the roads got worse with the recent heavy rains. This has made drivers to occasionally look for detours to enable them avoid some bad spots. These detours could be through nearby villages or through longer interstate routes.

  • to be continued PicsArt_10-25-06.20.56.jpg
Sort:  

Warning! This user is on our black list, likely as a known plagiarist, spammer or ID thief. Please be cautious with this post!
If you believe this is an error, please chat with us in the #appeals channel in our discord.