AFTER DARK

in #nigeria6 years ago

AFTER DARK
“Good things don’t happen after dark to good children. Don’t let any boy deceive you. Do you hear me? This one you are squeezing your face” my mum said as I knelt down. She had practically dragged me by the ear inside after she caught me earlier saying farewell to David who walked me home from the shop down my street.

“Where is the curry I sent you? This food won’t be ready for your father’s arrival!” Have you finished your assignment? Go set the table for your father.” she continued her half monologue while cooking father’s dinner. “If you are doing like this now, I wonder what you would do when I go to the conference tomorrow! Make sure you place his food in the microwave for him before he comes back from work in the evening.

It was late the next night when my dad stumbled dead drunk into the house. I quickly rose up from the couch where I had dozed off while watching Tinsel. “Welcome daddy. Should I help you warm up your food?” I said as he eyed me strangely.

…………………………………

“My mum was right about one thing though”, I thought to myself as I sat weeping silently under the shower, scrubbing off his vomit off me and the bedsheet holding the evidence of my virginity while he snored heavily on my bed after he had raped me. “Good things don’t happen after dark to good children.” Only that the danger she warned me about wasn’t from David or strangers in dark corners she had warned me of all my life. It was from the people you trusted with your life.

Image source: google.com

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @esther-may to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

This story is deeep thoughhhh....., short, captivating and intriguing and short, like how did you manage to fuse all in one. Nice post

Ah! You flatter me..thank you.

omg
This is just terrible

Happens every now and then everywhere, we are just blind to it, I guess it was inspired by the several real happenings I’ve been seeing on blogs these days

Tragic mehn. I went through your blog you have lovely post. And your location shows Lagos, I hope to see you one day. Great post @esther-may