THE UNVEILING- STEEMIT CAMPUS INVASION DELTA STATE POLYTECHNIC OTEFE OGHARA

in #nigeria6 years ago

INTRODUCTION

Idea they say is the key to every standing organization you can ever think of because every structure you see today was once an idea that has been worked on and now translated to what you an idea can relate with.

STEEMIT CAMPUS INVASION DELTA STATE POLYTECHNIC OTEFE OGHARA was just an idea in my mind but it has translated into an event that will go a long way to change the life of the Students and Indigenes of Otefe Community.

I present to you the next Steemit Meet Up STEEMIT CAMPUS INVASION DELTA STATE POLYTECHNIC OTEFE OGHARA

Steemit Invasion I.jpg

Let Me Introduce Myself

I am Daniel Tsolaye also known as @jackdogho. I am a student at Delta State Polytechnic Otefe Oghara at Delta State Nigeria. A Christian by religion. I was born and brought up in Sapele.

I joined Steemit last year September 2017. I was introduced by my friend @penauthor. I was at the quest of becoming an online business entrepreneur when @penauthor introduced me to Steemit community. I found it difficult to make quality contributions to Steemit community because I did not a good mobile phone. everything changed when I got my laptop. I became so focused on Steemit till it consumed the whole of me. I love soccer, music, and talking. (Let me do less of me today. Maybe I will do a re-introduction post)

The Idea

The vision of holding a meet up was conceived last year December after seeing several meet up organized at Uyo and at Warri (by@destinysaid). I saw a need to hold a meet up at Sapele where I live since I was on Hols. I shared the vision with @jofomaja, @penauthor and @kinggolo(you have to meet these great personalities)

They gave me their support and I started making preparation for the meetup.

I thought it wise to bring down some exceptional Steemians whom I was aware of. The first person I contacted was @tojukaka. I felt scared inviting him. To be real I felt it will be cost pulling him over to Sapele to speak for the event. I was shocked when he said I won't have to pay him to come over.(he will be here for the meetup)
That was a huge source of encouragement to me. As a young Steemian I felt bold to take another bold step because I felt someone got my back.

I urge all Steemians to assist newbies when they come to you for help. Help them in any way you can because it's not all about you but building a better Steemit community.

I called @ejemia who also was in support of it (also coming for the meetup). He told me to contact @destinysaid who lives in the same town with me.

Meeting @Destinysaid

I feel it is worth giving him a place in this post as a subject on his own. I must say @destinysaid is a very great personality I will forever be glad I met. Let me try to give a little about his personality. He is a very quiet guy to me who has a very high taste. I can't tell if he is handsome. Maybe a girl will help me write about that. He is a supportive guy to me.
Something amazing about him I love the most is his humility. Although he has been on Steemit he treats all Steemians around him with lots of care and respect.

IMG_20180127_145045.jpg
don't mind that look of his
My first meetup with him was a super amazing meetup
meetup 3.jpg
At this meetup, I decided together with my team that we will be holding the steem Campus invasion at Delta State Polytechnic Oghara. I was in school on that Sunday morning. I had to travel all the way to Sapele town where most of the teams' members leave including @destinysaid.
My idea Metermorphos from just a single idea to this wonderful events we will be witnessing this Saturday. Here at this meetup, we decided on where we will be using and the cost we will be incurred if we are to hold a meetup at my school. Since then, I have been working really hard to make sure every logistics are in place and the meetup becomes a success.

meetup.jpg
@jackdogho, @penauthor, @kinggolo, @destinysaid, @decoreign

Second Meeting With Him

As time progressed, I had another meetup with @destinysaid and @penauthor at Delta State Polytechnic Otefe Oghara. We came to a conclusion on the hall we are to use.
During the course of the planning, we had several alternatives we could use. Everyone was pushed out of their shell. It was an ethics day because we had to walk through the town to check out halls that would be readily available for us to use for the meetup.
Subsequent meetings with @destinysaid was held all to the purpose of promoting Steemit here on Campus

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-13 at 11.48.53 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-13 at 11.48.54 PM.jpeg

About Delta State Polytechnic Otefe

DESPO.jpg

slideimg2.jpg

Delta State Polytechnic, Otefe-Oghara was established through a bill that was signed into law by Governor James Onanefe Ibori in November 2002. This is the result of a partnership between the Delta State Ministry of Education and Westminster University, London. The partnership gave birth to the Delta State Higher Education Project (DSHEP). Located in the agricultural town of Otefe in Ethiope West Local Government Area of Delta State.

slideimg3.jpg
Delta State Polytechnic runs with the vision to achieve the status of excellence in computing and information technology {I.T}.
⦁ Qualitative training in specific areas of technology and entrepreneurship as a way of providing opportunities for students to take advantage of their inherent talent and theoretical skills to generate needed entrepreneurial ventures and wealth.
⦁ Acquisition of entrepreneurship training and technology education which forms the bedrock for industrialization, growth, development and wealth creation. This, in turn, will help all Nigerians and the global communities as students create industries and jobs associated with their skills.
you can read up about DESPO here

Since the creation of the school, millions of Students have graduated to the workforce. Delta State Polytechnic believes in creating entrepreneurs who can take advantage of the use of Information Technolgy. Great minds have been produced from this school including me.

Affecting Delta State Polytechnic With Steemit

From my rough estimate, Delta State Polytechnic has over 50 thousand students including Spat and Regular students. I can also give a rough estimate that over 80% of these students make use of Andriod devices or even better.
From our first meetup, I intend to bring hundreds of Steemians who eventually will join me to build a Steemit Community here at Otefe Community. Imagine 100 Steemians introducing 1 friend to Steemit every day. It means we will be having 700 Steemians a week.

Here, we ain't going to have a meetup where everyone goes home forgetting about Steemit. We intend on building a community that will forever remain. In subsequent months, bigger meetup will be held to increase the Scope and awareness of Steemit in Delta State Polytechnic.
DESPO 2.png

I will be holding another meetup that will include both lecturers and students. The meetup will bring the community that consists of both students and lecturers thereby leading to a communal relationship between students and lecturers

Steem Meet Up Preparation.

I spend all my days since I started making preparation for the meetup promoting Steemit. Steemit got into my neurons until I mistakenly typed steemit.com as my laptop's password. I practically forgot my password.

I started out searching for halls. It wasn't an easy one searching for a good hall that can take a capacity of at least 1000 persons. 1000 was our least target but we had to get a hall that at least should contain 1000 student.
WhatsApp Image 2018-01-13 at 11.53.44 PM.jpeg
this was one of our alternatives

I also went to get chairs for the meetup. Sound system has also been booked.

My Trip Sapele

I left for Sapele from school to Sapele for the printing of the flyers and banners that will be needed for the in the morning. It was a very exciting trip. I bump into a friend who I knew during my National Diploma. We exchanged pleasantries and started talking about business. I introduced him to Steemit and not just him. everyone in the car collected my contacts and will be coming to the meetup.
IMG_20180126_125857.jpg
I met @destinysaid and made further planning for the Steemit meetup

20.png

At the Printing House

I spent almost all my day at the printing house. I went in the morning and left at around 8 am in the evening. I had to stay back to ensure the banners and fliers are made to specification. at first, I was so confused on the size and of the banner to print and how much it would cost me. @decoreign came to my rescue. He made a very good estimate and the number of banners that we will be needing for the invasion.

IMG_20180126_170925.jpg

IMG_20180126_170917.jpg

in the printing house in the morning

IMG_20180126_183015.jpg

IMG_20180126_183025.jpg

in the printing house in the afternoon with @decoreign.

As at 8pm I was still at the printing house. I was so famished and tired. I couldn't go home because I had to make sure that everything needed for the invasion was made readily available. At the end of it all, I wasn't able to get all the things needed. I had to go home waiting until the next.

IMG_20180126_191203.jpg

IMG_20180126_191404.jpg

IMG_20180126_191735.jpg
(@decorign and I searching for what to eat at about 7 pm)

Since I wasn't able to finish all that was needed for the meetup the previous day I had to continue the next day.
IMG_20180127_094904.jpg

I met with @destinysaid that day. We did most of the running around that was needed to be done to make Steemit campus Invasion a success.
IMG_20180127_123238.jpg

IMG_20180127_123235.jpg
I couldn't help than to visit an eatery because I was so hungry

After all said and done, we were able to get our flyers and banners ready.

Photo Catalog

IMG_20180127_143737.jpg

IMG_20180127_143823.jpg

IMG_20180127_143827.jpg

IMG_20180127_142950.jpg

IMG_20180127_143039.jpg

IMG_20180127_143043.jpg

IMG_20180127_143057.jpg

Steemit is for All

Steemit is a platform that can use in reaching out to everyone in any crook and cranny of the world. During my preparation for the Steemit Campus Invasion, I have introduced so many persons to Steemit. Here are some unique people I could give account for during my invasion prep

![IMG_20180127_155809.jpg] ()
Here is a motorcyclist that carried me down from my house to a destination. He heard me talking to my friend on phone about Steemit and he was interested. He gave so much attention to what I was saying to him.
IMG_20180127_155817.jpg

IMG_20180128_112713.jpg

Here is Ebi an amazing girl I met in Church. She gave her out some attention to all I was saying about Steemit. She asked so many questions about Steemit. She was very receptive and willing to learn when I gave her the answers to her questions.

the Next Milestone.

Let me make this clear. I am not holding a Steemit Campus Invasion because every Steemian is doing same. I have the vision to bring at least 50% of the student in my school to Steemit. Creating a community that helps affect the life of the people in my community.

After the invasion, I will embark on physical projects that will ensure the betterment of the students in Delta State Polytechnic Otefe Oghara. I won't unveil fully my intentions but I assure you that Steemit will take over the whole Delta State Polytechnic Otefe Oghara and there by increasing the value of steem.

On this Invasion...

we will be having the likes of @ejemai, @tojukaka, @ehiboss,@gbenga, @destinysaid, @penauthor, @Illuminatus and @jackdogho

I really want to appreciate the members of my team. The like of @decoriegn, @kinggolo, @jofomaja,
@dlio, @violed25th.

Make Sure You Don't Miss This Invasion For Any Reason.

Sort:  

Steemit all the way. DESPO meet up. I lovr this idea.

Resteemed. Thumbs up

thanks bro

keep up the good work