MORE FAT THAN LEAN - Entry for Poetry Contest/ Escape the Obligation - NYE

The following is my submission to @sature 's poetry contest on the theme:
Escape the Obligation - New Year's Eve

Photo credit: Oleksil Lukin / 123RF

MORE FAT THAN LEAN

"Come out to the party and stay for the drinks!"
She attempted to coax after cheerfully boasting,
"No calories count from a marshmallow's toasting!"

"Alas, I have something - a conflict, pre-scheduled.
So sorry, can't make it,
but see you next year!"
And the conflict less noble than charitable causes,
yet slightly more crucial than washing my hair.

There is lurking to do
       on the boards, on the forums.
There is lurking to do
       'mong the tweets and the chats.
It could well-be confirmed
while I am away
that Q is not LARPing, but saving the day!
So, while others watch balls drop,
this year, I will stay.

And even if nothing but theories abound,
I'll still sip champagne while I'm lurking around,
'cause things will be different in 2018:
the size of my wallet
virtually more fat than lean.

Sort:  

No comments yet but I want to thank those that stopped by to read one of my @originalworks !

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @artmindvoice to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!