How about a few One Hit Wonders for #ninetiesfriday!? 🥇

Today is #ninetiesfriday!!!

image.png

I have other stories from the 90s I want to chat about here at #ninetiesfriday, and I also want to talk about this at some point...
image.png
...however, today is going to be about some one hit wonders from the 1990s.

I heard this song yesterday and it gave me the idea for the post.

  • Spacehog, "In the Meantime"


    Well, they have a funny band name, I'll give them that, and that was a catchy tune. They released a couple more albums over the years according to Wikipedia, but they remain a #onehitwonder

    Next we have a mega-hit that come out in 1990.

  • EMF, "Unbelievable"


    I enjoy that one. I had the single of that song and it might have been the 12" vinyl single but I don't have it any longer and can't remember exactly which it was.


This next one is a sweet R&B tune that I really liked back in the day, though I had the lyric, "return of the Mack", wrong. I thought the lyric was, "return unto me". xD

  • Mark Morrison, "Return of the Mack"

    That one rolls by on one of my Pandora stations occasionally, and now I can sing the right lyric :D

THe last one for today came out right at the end of the 1990s, 1999 to be exact, and it was a big hit for Macy Gray.

  • Macy Gray, "I Try"

Looking at her Wikipedia page it looks like she got into acting and has been in numerous movies and TV shows as well as continuing to release music.

Honorable mention to Jesus Jones and their one hit, "Right Here, Right Now", which has been in numerous tv ads and probably other stuff too, like when they show some exciting sports shit on tv and they play this song to the #winning in the video.

image.png

Sort:  

Not bad music, funny thing I have never heard of any of them before except EMF. Then again I wasn't in the US all that much in the 90's so I probably just missed them. One hit wonders are always fun!

EMF of course was huge with that one song. One can only hope those royalties keep coming in for years to come to keep them alive!

Spacehog was good, one I had never heard before. Last two weren't bad, not my style of music though, you know how that goes!

Great Nineties Friday!
!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@thebighigg just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @summertooth.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Thank higggggg! 😛😜🤪
!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@summertooth just slapped you with 10.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 10.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 3/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

EMF, "Unbelievable"

Welp, that'll be in my head for the next 20 years.

!WINE

Haha, oops. Maybe if you listen one time, all the way through to sort of get it out of your system?
!LOLZ

What did the sand say as the tide came in ?
Long time no sea.

Credit: reddit
@ironshield, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of summertooth

(1/4)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

You received an upvote of 39% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.

They all should’ve been NO HIT WONDERS!!!!!

Baaaaahahahahah!

!pimp


You must be killin' it out here!
@silverd510 just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @summertooth.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District