Let's get LIVE with Ministry for #ninetiesfriday 🎸

It's #ninetiesfriday so let's take a look at the godfathers of industrial music, Ministry.

This band was born in the 80s but really hit their stride in the 90s. Then they got on heroin and lost it for a bit, but lead singer and brain-trust, Al Jorgensen, got his shit together and is still kicking ass today

Lemme just fire up the new Ministry record, Hopiumforthemasses, while I write this #90sfriday post 🤘
1000001679.gif

Introduction

As I said, Al started Ministry in 1982, but it was a whole lot of nothing but cutting chops until 1988/1989 when they released two records, The Land of Rape and Honey with the single Stigmata, and, The Mind is a Terrible Thing to Taste.

So, in early 1990 Ministry went on an extensive tour, where they recorded a concert video they released on CD and on video (VHS 😃) in September 1990, In Case You Didn't Feel Like Showing Up.

image.png

I've always been a big music lover, probably due to my dad always having oldies on, or singing if there was no radio around. I really started listening with intent and learning about music and musicians in the mid 1980s when we moved from Chicago to Los Angeles. At fist it was pop music, then by the late 1980s I was really into classic rock as well.

I also had a friend that was a professional drummer in high school and he got me into jazz and my girlfriend at the time was a cellist who was in the Cal State University Fullerton orchestra, so I was getting into classical as well.

In Case You Didn't Feel Like Showing Up

I remember the day I went over to my buddy's house and he played this video for me.

The video fades into a wide view of a stage, there's fire and smoke, then you hear a solid drum jam. When the camera finally shows the drums, there are TWO drummers 😳

After about three minutes of that the rest of the band appears on stage and they break into the first song, Breathe.

At the beginning of the song the camera angle changes and we see the band behind a fucking chain link fence, wearing the most evil cowboy hats I've ever seen! I was hooked!! The fence left enough on the front of the stage for concertgoers to jump up dance across.

image.png

Here's the full video. Highly recommend.

If you don't have time for that shit then maybe watch them perform one of their more well known songs, Thieves.


At least hang to the 1:19 mark, when the tempo quadruples :D

1990s

Ministry released three studio albums in the 90s:
ΚΕΦΑΛΗΞΘ (known as Psalm 69) (1992)
Filth Pig (1996)
Dark Side of the Spoon (1999)

And I did not miss a tour 🤘
1000001678.jpg

The '92 tour was called the Psalm 69 tour, the '96 was called the Sphictour, and the '99 was called the ClitourUS 😂🤣

image.png
I was at the second show and was fortunate to see Sepultura and Helmet as well. Also saw Helmet at the Roxy earlier that year.

Mic Stands

One of Al's signature stage props are his custom mic stands. It usually changed from tour to tour, and still does!

image.png
image.png
image.pngimage.png
image.png

90s Music

From Psalm 69:

My favorite tune from the Filth Pig album:

And the opening tune from the commercial flop, Dark Side of the Spoon:

'Nuff said

image.png

Sort:  

What a cool band, I love Ministry since back in the 80's! Really awesome picks there! It's been awhile since I've heard them, thanks for reminding me to listen to them more often!
!PIMP

Ministry & Gary Numan are the only reason Trent AKA Nine Inch Nails picked up a Synth! Huge influence on so many bands in the nineties and 2000’s

I heard that too, very cool factoid. Ministry and Gary Numan are such great artists!


You must be killin' it out here!
@thebighigg just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @summertooth.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

You received an upvote of 41% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.

Without Ministry there would no Nine Inch Nails! There early stuff was the reason Trent picked up synth! A lot of the electronic heavy snyth stuff wouldn’t exist without em. At least in the form they took! Great band/artist to spotlight!

Love that Vinyl 🙌

IMG_3603.gif

For sure. Yeah they released 500 on this pink/blue vinyl. So fun!

Very nice! I may have to bring out some colorful vinyl next Friday 🎸

DO IT! Wait until you see my father's day post tomorrow...

Byt the way, was that empire records vinyl you showed yours?

How else u think I had it? 🤣

Oh u might of skipped the vlog where I’m holding it and showing it. Yeah it’s kine mine indeed 🙌

I got 200 records 😮

Sweet!
!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@summertooth just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @geneeverett.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

I got 40 punk LP’s I bought than like 100 from a single tag sale where I cleaned em out for $500. It was good stuff. Than prolly 10 synth records and a few other soundtracks and random mainstream records. All vinyl

That's !PIMP.
I was a big record collector I'm the 80s and still have a decent amount of my collection. Just bought a new record player last year and really enjoying spinning the vinyl again.


You must be killin' it out here!
@summertooth just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @geneeverett.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@geneandashlee just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @summertooth.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District