Turning off Steem Auto

in #nobots6 years ago

A couple of weeks ago, I decided to give Steem Auto a try, but I have decided to turn it off.

I don't like the impersonal side to it. I would much rather vote myself when I read everyone's posts and make a comment when I upvote, rather than just blindly upvote people and have that person feel as though I haven't made the effort to read their content.

Bots have their place, but this particular bot doesn't sit right with me, it feels as though it is disconnecting me rather than connecting me with people, which is the exact opposite of what I am trying to aceive!

So if you have noticed that my autoupvote has disappeared, please do not be offended; it is because I don't want to miss out on reading your posts and voting personally rather than setting a standard amount to upvote each time.

Some posts blow me away and I give 100% vote, but if I set up an auto upvote, I can't do that at 100% for everyone.

So I am back to manual curation, lets see how this goes!

Much love to you all, @beautifulbullies xx

35o9gx19j2.jpg

Sort:  

I do both and at times cut it off. I only auto upvote a few.
Always do what your heart tells you is right for you.
I that your dog?
If anyone is missing my vote it is because I am trying to do the manuel thing with most everyone.

Yes, that is one of my Girls, Fiddy :)
I just feel that it was getting too impersonal. I was reading a post the other day and I wanted to upvote it but realised I had already auto upvoted it and it just didn't sit right with me. I think Manual curation is much better :)

I agree .. it can get impersonnal

Agreed we need to get back to manual especially in commenting

Absolutely! We are losing the social side of this 'social media' platform. We need to get it back to how it used to be! :)

I use steemdunk for places I know I need to vote, like qurator, sydesjokes, sbi, steemiteduction, my son. It takes a lot of stress off of me and saves time. But for others, I try to get to their posts, but don't always. This place is a madhouse at taking my time!

Haha yes it can be full on sometimes! :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by beautifulbullies (bulldogs) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I won't use a bot either, i do see a lot of members doing that, I wish they wouldn't as its very impersonal plus they vote every post the same whether its informative one or a meme.

Exactly! you set your vote amount and then walk away. You don't ever have to read another post again...but where is the fun in that? The whole point of Steemit to me anyway, is reading all about interesting things that I wouldn't have normally come across! I am not completely anti bots, but the auto upvote is not for me :)

Wish they would understand what it means to us, someone reads your post you want to go read there's but when a bot has voted there is no interaction

I have never used Steem Auto. I like to manually upvote content, it is fun, that is how I learn new things and get to know the people I follow better. :)

Exactly! :D I think it is so much nicer when you see a lovely comment with an upvote at the same time! I love to get to know people and I value the personal connections I make here

Same! My problem is, when my SP is so low, I don't feel like I can comment without upvoting. haha as I follow more and more people my SP goes down and down. lol I can't remember the last time I was above 80% SP.

I'm on a couple of curation trails on SteemAuto, and I like that because nobody gets missed.

That isn't to say that I don't occasionally change votes (click it again takes the vote away. Click one more time and you can use the slider again). I also use steemworld so I can look at every vote and always have a chance to read the posts I want to read.

I'll be interested to see how this works out for you. I'm always interested in being more efficient and thorough. Thanks for the post!

Thanks Big T! Yes, I guess curation trails can be useful, I have never really looked into those.

Its good for maximising curation rewards or if you cant use Steemit for a while. Saying that I only use SteemAuto for @steembasicincome, @thesteemengine and @qurator posts. Everything else is manual.

I am just going to upvote them manually. I tend to log on most days, even if I am not posting myself, just so I can catch up with everyone's post, so I will perhaps make a list of the accounts I need to make sure I upvote to stay on top of it

I use steemworld.org, that way I don't miss anything.

I used Steemvoter for ages, but decided to give it up. It's all manual from me. I may consider automating some votes if I'm going to be away for a while, but then I've delegated to others who can make my SP work.

It just didn't sit right with me. I used to use it last year but my VP was completely depleted and then nobody got a decent vote from me anyway, which is another downside. At least if I do it manually, I can make sure my VP stays higher

I use steemauto for curation and for a few people who I have built relationships with and whom I don't want to miss voting because I deem their content to be always worthy of a vote. This can and has changed and if that happens my auto vote changes accordingly. At eh same time I use steemify for the same people so that I am able to make sure to comment and let them know that I am still reading their great work.

That is a good way to use it, but I just prefer to give the vote myself. It just feels more genuine for me to do the vote at the time of replying. I know my curation probably isn't maximised, but I don't earn that much in curation anyway so I am not too worried.

I use steemvoter for quarator and steemitworldmap, oher than that i do like to see what my friends are up to and comment and upvote accordingly. Even friends sometimes do shit posts.

Having said that, i know i'm on quite a few people's autovote so I do appreciate the service as everyone works differently

It is nice to receive auto upvotes, but as @karenb54 says, sometimes you feel as though people aren't reading your posts when you just get the vote and no comment. I can see the good on both sides though