You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Dispense with the Formalities...

in #nonprofits6 years ago (edited)

Thanks! Good stuff.

Reminds me of architect Louis Kahn's poetic speech when he was awarded The American Institute of Architects Gold Medal in 1971: "A city is measured by the character of its institutions. The street is one of its first institutions. Today, these institutions are on trial. I believe it is so because they have lost the inspirations of
their beginning. The institutions of learning must stem from the undeniable feeling in all of us a desire to learn. I have often thought that this feeling came from the way we were made, that nature records in everything it makes how it was made."

Also reminds me of the Labor Lyceum Movement, which nourished all aspects of the worker's body and spirit and thrived, for a time, in late 19th century industrial neighborhoods. I wrote about it here and here.