You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We Won! (Social Network of the Year - 2019)

in #noonies5 years ago (edited)

Clickjacking on the Noonies page.

I know it was possible since my vote wasn't registered on my mobile device. However, this is something that can (and should) be technically solved instead of pointing the finger to end-users that use this "feature/bug". (I'm pretty sure some thought voting multiple times was a feature, similar how you can clap multiple times on medium) Honestly, I expected a bit more from a site calling itself hackernoon.

Making your botnet vote for you.

4k votes and a botnet? Seems a bit unlikely, especially since Steem has at least 30k unique accounts who were active in the last month.

image.png

Many of those are of course alt-accounts, but many of them are real as well and the dark number, those interacting just by reading or some other non-transaction way is far higher.

Sort:  

As for the botnet, I wouldn't be suprised if Gab, in #2, tried to do something like that. There wasn't much promotion in the Gab community for the vote, it's hard to see how they got to #2. Hacker Noon didn't say what social network had fake voting.

Well, they tainted the whole award by not saying who had fake votes and how many those were in total. I honestly think Steemit would have won either way - simply because we've got the biggest and most loyal userbase (and with that I mean Steemians).