You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Fork // HF21- What To Expect

in #normietalk5 years ago (edited)

Very clear :)

.. When we use one of those to downvote something, we are giving up the possible curation rewards that would have been earned if we used it to upvote instead.

I like that you term a downvote as a loss in curation rewards - for some the biggest loss is their author rewards, 5/6/7 times a day.

I'd forgotten about https://steemproposals.com/proposals, thanks for the link.

Choices between beach and watching the downvotes roll in, hmmm...

Sort:  

Well the fact that downvotes in their current state are a loss of curation rewards is the reason for the 2.5 free downvotes. Yes some will (and do) see a loss in author rewards due to them, and will continue. I think I covered those as well though, I just think they are different things. One being the reason the "free" downvotes are needed and the other being a flaw in our current culture surrounding downvotes. I hope as they become more normalized the abuse will stop too.. and I mean it when I say that includes the countering of unjust downvotes.

Can't you watch the downvotes while on the beach? ...

I'll be watching the ships roll in :)