Taking fellow steemian @howo to the Pulpit Rock, the best of the Norwegian Fjords!

in #norway6 years ago

So this week, me and my fellow @steempress-io co-founder @howo have travelled to Norway to attend Spaceport Norway (a space technology conference I helped co-found some years ago before I joined esa). Of course, when visiting the south-west region of Norway doing a hike in the fjord is obligatory! So hiking we did.

33224632_10156324059931550_2767813724545744896_n.jpg
@howo and @fredrikaa at the top of the Pulpit Rock

First of all it has to be said: @howo is one lucky bastard! Stavanger which is the 4th largest city in Norway, my home-town and the capital of Norway’s oil & gas industry as well as the fjord tourist attractions, is also well known for its shitty weather. In fact, it rains approximately 235 days pr year! For us then to arrive in mid-May to 20+ degrees Celsius and blue skies every day now for 4 days is a rare happening to say the least.

33170143_10156324060136550_8874977608496840704_n.jpg
Leaving the Stavanger Docks in the morning to go deeper inside the fjords the weather was simply amazing!

The pulpit rock is by far the most popular hike in terms of the region. It’s estimated that during the summer season, 300 000 people make the hike up to the plateau. While it is neat for the region to have this attraction, it also means that the route is rather crowded. Indeed, walking up felt more like walking in a queue than running in the mountains. but who cares if you have people in front of you and behind you if you can turn your head around and look out and over this fjord?!?

33057920_10156324060151550_5376093105084694528_n.jpg
On top of the Lysefjord which contains some of the most common attractions in south-western Norway

33097371_10156324060186550_9042576110084161536_n.jpg
Tourists and fearless Norwegian-children both can't help but peek down the steep hills at the edges!

What makes this fjord so unique is the steepness of the mountains. Depending on your position in the fjord, you might find yourself on top of a 1000 meter free fall steep mountainside peering down at the fjords below. Needless to say, the view is fantastic but also a bit scary and borderline uncomfortable for those with a weak stomach. For a better appreciation of the share scale and size, I recommend this drone video from an area just next to our hike:

But the pulpit rock is famous for more than just the steepness of the mountains. The ice-age, which carved out the fjord to begin with, left some fascinating shapes behind. The pulpit rock (preikestolen in Norwegian) looks almost like a huge chair meant for a giant. (So needless to say, it's popular for visitors to try and sit on the edge and feel like they are on the top of the world!)

33189390_10156324059971550_5505743801085329408_n.jpg

A picture I took while ascending up and behind the pulpit rock

33085440_10156324060116550_5052571467993055232_n.jpg
Me sitting on the top and dangling my feet down above the main plateau

33089750_10156324060026550_4193590163550502912_n.jpg
@howo with the most typical Norwegian hiking and skiing lunch snack you can have, turning this proud Frenchman into a proper Norwegian if only for a short time

33126623_10156324060106550_1778546326640787456_n.jpg
Picture from behind with a view into the end of the fjord

If you haven't guessed so already, I would recommend everyone who loves travelling and would like to go to Norway to pay the pulpit rock a visit! It is truely a unique experience. Although I myself prefer to hike further into the mountains where there are fewer people and you are left more in touch with nature, this gem of a site has to be experienced at least once!

Interested in going to the Norwegian Fjords and would like some more details on how you can get there and other recommendations? Do feel free to ask me in the comments!

Anyways, it was one hell of a trip and also a place I find worth sharing :)

As always, take care!
@fredrikaa

Sort:  

First of all it's really great to hear that you Co - Found an Space Technology Conference and it's appreciable and i want to congratulate for that. And in my opinion you took your Steemian frind to the amazing hiking place and all these natural and beautiful pictures saying one thing that you both had an awesome time. Who will not going to like this kind of gem place. Thanks for sharing this post with us and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

Ah, it's good to see you, out & about having fun, @fredrikaa :)

There is an austere beauty to Norway; I would love to visit, one day. I didn't realize that giant's chair/pulpit rock was in your home town. Impressive chance to commune with Nature in all her awesome majesty (I think it was Milton who defines the sublime as beauty that has terror in it)!

Thanks, for sharing, so that we might vicariously enjoy this adventure with you--stay safe, you & that honorary Norwegian, aka @Howo :P

For us then to arrive in mid-May to 20+ degrees Celsius and blue skies every day now for 4 days is a rare happening to say the least.

Global warming. :P

Wow, what a landscape. Breathtaking! Although I am afraid of height, I enjoyed your pictures. ;)

Agree it is amazing! Well, you don't have to walk next to the edge if you don't want to ;). I've done the hike with plenty who hate heights but still loved the trip. For them, standing 5 meters away was enough to feel the butterflies ^^.

This looks gorgeous guys! Cool to see you have a nice time there! We should grab a beer at some point in Paris :)

Hey man, first of all very nice post I hope you had some good fun in Norway!
I am writing you because of a business request, do you have discord, so we can discuss the details?
Regards

Thanks! It sure was a fantastic trip!
My Discord name/ID is: @fredrikaa#6070
You are also more than welcome to join our Discord channel for SteemPress here: https://discord.gg/HBzJNa

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.28$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Some really amazing views, it makes me wonder how it would look at night. I imagine a shot of the milky way with the magnificent landscape and the stars reflecting in the water.

I suggest you follow this link to see the picture below in full size. It is really spectacular!

6ab090dc-04a3-4024-8902-e0c18ff642fd.jpg

Thanks for that, I also translated the article related to the photo. Pretty cool story about him carrying all his heavy gear and doing it because he loves it so much and never making any money for it.

That's a lot of tourists down there! Preikestolen is such a beautiful location, especially when you guys were this lucky with the weather! I've never been able to visit it myself yet, but hopefully I will find myself at that part of the country some day.

It's one of those places you just have to go at least once ^^.
But as you say, the weather really determines if you'll have a good time.

Yeah, that sounds about right! I really want to do more exploring of Norway in the coming years instead of traveling to other countries. We have so many beautiful and unique places!

amazing photography, but i'm wondering wether i can site on that stone or not, even i think the question is not haha but i would like to thank you about these wonderful shots, hopefully someday i'll be able to be there.

Tell me if you ever plan on going and need some tips ^^
Sitting on the edge is very scary I'll have to admit, but crawling out on your stomach to peek down is a lot more comfortable.

Hi Fredrikaa. That is an amazing view. Going to put it on my travel list. Watch when I arrive it will rain. Always happens. Really fantastic post.

favourite steemia support.jpg

I'm happy to tell you that I've chosen you for automatic upvotes as part of my new initiative "Jon Magnusson's favourite Steemians support".

This is because I personally has reviewed your content and found it to be something I want to support and encourage and/or the work you do for the Steemit community.

If you believe that someone deserves my attention, please leave a comment with a link to some of their work.

PS Love Norway btw! Geiranger fjorden is amazing!

you both were at London crypto show, I'm I, right?

Yup! From London to Stavanger ;)
Who knows where we might go next?

no one knows ;)

@fredrikaa I wouldn't sit there even for 1.000.000 steem

Now I'm tempted to putting that to the test ;).
Maybe I should get the PW to my account on a stick and put it at the edge :P :P

Flotte bilder! Jammen var dere heldige med været.

Takk! Ja nå har vi vært her siden Fredag og hatt sol og blå himmel hver eneste dag. Så han har vært virkelig heldig som besøkte vestlandet nettopp denne uken ^^

Even Tom Cruise had to go haha!

Wow! Wonderful place really. @fredrikaa

My dream is to visit Norway. Thanks for this article, it was interesting, go on.

Wow!! These views are amazing!

You should try putting Africa in your bucket list. We have some very amazing places you would like to see, and you'll come so much closer to nature. There are also amazing delicacies you may want to try out.

this is a very inspired trip of mine..your adventure with friends..you least have to stop-minded above altitude

Jeg ønsker å ønske deg fornøyelsen av ferien i Norge, det virker veldig hyggelig..
👍 @fredrikaa

The views are really breathtaking.

wow really beautiful photography. amazing place. enjoy your travel. have a great day. thanks for @fredrikaa

I have been to Norway but not yet been to these cliffs. It always amazes me how close to edge people like to go. I should to even though i have vertigo thing.

Enjoyed these quality photos! :)

awesome places!

Nice@fredrikaa

Unfortunately I won’t be hitting. Orsay this time around, but that looks like another reason to go (although I may try to find an equally beautiful less traveled spot). Those views make me queasy. View would’ve been a lot different on a rainy day. I always enjoy your posts.

Many thanks for amazing pictures from Lysefjorden with the pulpit and Kjerag bolt @Fredrikaa
It's an airy trip and nothing for them with the hint of fright from hight. I think I'd have trouble standing up the bolt in Kjerag.
But it must be great to stand it up for those who dare.
Thank you for amazingly beautiful photos.

Best regards
@Siggjo

Congratulations @fredrikaa! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
_Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Amazing video content!

Congratulations @fredrikaa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!