Aymara: A Little Taste Of Peru

in #norway6 years ago (edited)

At my workplace, there is a Peruanita, and she recently told me that she had eaten cats(!) in Peru. Needless to say, I found the Peruvian cuisine interesting, and it is indeed a Peruvian restaurant in Oslo called Aymara.

Yesterday, it was my birthday. My mother invited my to a restaurant of choice. I decided to go to Aymara. It is very centrally located in Oslo, and just a stone's throw from my apartment:source

The restaurant was almost full when we arrived, and it was very cosy (you can se pictures of it on their homepage). We ordered the menu called a Taste of Peru, composed of 8 dishes.

They were served in this order:

Causa de Cangrejo

Soft mashed potatoes, king crab, avocado, radish, olive and mayonnaise:
IMG_20180126_192909_resized_20180127_122832933.jpg

Tiradito de lenguado

Halibut, kimchi, pomegranate, mango, wasabi:
IMG_20180126_192925_resized_20180127_122855830.jpg

Ceviche Miraflores

Roughhead grenadier fillet, aji limo, leche de tigre, sweet potato, bananachips:
IMG_20180126_193216_resized_20180127_122924549.jpg

Chicharron Chino (210 grams in 3 pieces)

Confitated swine rib, sweet potato puree, pickled red onion, herb cress:
IMG_20180126_202747_resized_20180127_122946697.jpg

Esparragos Pachacamac

Grilled asparagus, corn, huancaina sauce:
IMG_20180126_202810_resized_20180127_123046851.jpg

Arroz Chaufa

Fried rice, spring onions, sugar peas:
IMG_20180126_202759_resized_20180127_123024431.jpg

Lomo Saltado Miso (180 grams)

Wok of beef tenderloin, fried almond potato, cherry tomato, red onions, coriander cress:
IMG_20180126_202753_resized_20180127_123010793.jpg

Bomba de chocolate

Chocolate cream, banana roast, chocolate ground, lime cream:
IMG_20180126_211007_resized_20180127_123105158.jpg

I could not be more pleased with the food. All the dishes were well composed and very flavourful.
I am a sushi lover, and I am especially pleased how they managed to use raw fish (halibut and roughhead grenadier) in for me a novel way (ceviche). They even arrange courses in how to make ceviche! I am definitively going to eat more ceviche.

In total for two persons, the bill was NOK 1600ish (included 1 glass of white wine, 2 glasses of red wine and a local drink), which is only moderately expensive in Oslo.

This is an easy 535px-5_stars.png

If you are in Oslo, and like good food, you do not want to miss this place.

Photo taken by @janusface on January 26 2018 with a Huawei Honor 5X (no editing)

Thank you for your time and attention. Steem on!

Follow me: @janusface

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Amazing and delicious :)

Just last night one of our most famous restraunts in Melbourne called Atlas just had their Peruvian food menu month. The food was to die for, this type of food is delicious!!

Cool! Have not been in Melbourne since I was 8, but if faith bring me there again, I'll check out Alas:)!

Garnishing of food looks so healty. I heard about these dishes first time.
I wish i ll eat peruvian dishes one time in my life .because they looks so delicious and healthy.

And sorry to wish you late
HbD friend. Many many happy returns of the day.
Wishing you good health and success.
@janusface
PhotoFunia-1516588029.jpg
Hope you will visit my work i have posted it for you
#janusface
https://steemit.com/janusface/@samiurrehman10/foggy-glass-window-editing-of-janusface

💗💗💗💗
Happy birthday @janusface
images (12).jpg

Oh. Thanks! Lovely photo:)!

Awesome place, been there myself:) Authentic and delicious.

Hi @stockhausen! Always cool to find "new" Norwegians on Steemit. Psychology is awesome. I have watched some Jordan Peterson movies lately: Conscientiousness is negatively correlated with intelligence etc.

Indeed :D Don't know many norwegians on steem, so I get suprised everytime I see a Norwegian related post, haha

Happy birthday (one day late)! This looks like a very nice place to eat, and I will definitely keep it in mind when I'm in Oslo. The food looks really good as well, and pretty different to the restaurants I'm usually eating at.

The bill was 1600 for the two of you, right? Or else it seems really expensive, even for so many dishes.

Thanks @valth! Yes, for 2 persons!

Ah, that's not too bad for such a large dish and some wine then. But I had expected more people who are unfamiliar with Norway to be outraged by it!

I wasn't aware that Peruvian cuisine included fried rice, that's interesting. I'm pretty sure my favorite there would have been the Chicharron Chino, because pork belly is just so rich.

Happy belated birthday!

Thanks! Good observation, and actually the fried rice was a chinese dish. Do not know why they had that at a Peruvian restaurant. All the other dishes were Peruvian though.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

@janusface I have been dating a "Peruanita" for nearly a year now, she is also a chef, so can relate to some of these dishes, the flavours coming out of Peru are truly incredible, and there are often Peruvian events over here in Perth, Western Australia where we go an eat and dance. Thanks for your post, brings back a lot of cool memories :)

Hello @janusface
happy Birthday to You
I hope my friend enjoys and does not sustain your time and your status is a wonderful opportunity

We do not consume cat meat in our country but I think it would be delicious I wish I had the opportunity to taste it . By the way, I wish you a happy birthday and thank you for sharing the wonderful pictures of this kindness of you .
20180127_182105.gif

Wow so many amazing dishes to celebrate with wishing you a very happy belated birthday have an amazing year ahead @janusface :) and keep steeming on

M1nEp7h (1).gif

Now i know you you had an amazing day ... happy birthday :)

There is nothing cheap in Oslo :D haha.
But seams great food ;)

@Janusface First of All happy birthday to you <3
Awwwwwwwww its too yummy awwwwww I'm loving it really. Its texture and the way or presentation is awesome I must say. If I will there i'm surely gonna try once in my life great food especially "Chicharron chino and Bomba da chocolate lovely.

A great place Aymara to try Peruvian cuisine and all these dishes look very appetizing, that they want to eat right now! A large selection of meat and vegetables give these dishes an original taste! Thank you @janusface, when I will be in Oslo, I will definitely visit this place!

Of all the recipes that you show us, I like the most is the ceviche of Peru, it is very rich especially if you have a lot of lemon juice uhm

DQmNR37a532DAXwwiXfg9WzgSXcbQWLjwWXiZghfWL8NyfK_1680x8400.jpeg
I think this food is very delicious and very testy.
I know that it is very healthy.
Thanks for sharing
images (4).png

It seems that the taste of the cats will be delicious. I hope you enjoyed your time and your status was a wonderful occasion . I wish a happy birthday to you

wow..they seems yummy :) hope you had some great time :)

Fist of all Happy Birthday buddy and as the foods as well sure looks delicious :)

My mouth started watering!!!! Great to see all these dishes!!!
-cheers-

@janusface,
This looks delicious! I don't know what are these foods! But if I am willing to visit Oslo I will not miss this place!

Cheers~

Hello @janusface,

Extraordinary good Peru food experience shared by you. Incredible photography & very informative post about your experience.

~@mywhale

Its a day to celebrate. My warmest congratulations to you because you were old 01 year. Outstanding menu in this pub and tasty foods photo click increase my hungry. Best decision in your b'day.

Don't know how it taste. But it looks delicious~

Many happy returns of the day @janusface. Are you coming nearly 65 years old? Lol... Its your reputation level. Nice to decided your mother and you go to Aymara in Norway. Delicious menu indeed. It seems your uploaded photos.

@janusface, Firstly I tell you"Happy birth day to you". Delicious feelings with your mom went awesome place of Aymara. But unfortunately you didn't upload restaurant view. Little taste with Peru menu selection and Most attractive me Bomba de chocolate.
That's nice stuff.

Looks great!!! Delicious. My Friend you are awesome @janusface DQmdFrxBBT1R2CaAWR3AhX4mrv68Jdr6bUVCnMv9QPGr1tZ.gif

First of all happy birthday dear @janusface thanks for sharing this post with us all its looks delicious :)

My stomach is literally crying because I looked at those pictures... I LOVE ceviche but all of those dishes looked fantastic.

Amazing food.

This is actually a very cool look into life in Peru. Thanks for sharing.

Oh, there are a lot of dishes. U have pleased my eyes. My boyfriend really wants to visit Oslo, so it’s good to know some informations.
italicboldPs- Happy birthaday! May your dreams come true!

This food looks too good. I was surprised that someone eats cats! I did't think they were edible :)

I love the Peruvian food. Looks delicious @janusface. Thanks for sharing!!!

impressive food experience & excellent photography you shared of them. nice post @janusface

@resteemia

@janusface...It seems like that the taste of the cats will be delicious. I hope you enjoyed your time and your status was a wonderful occasion . I wish a happy birthday to you...thank you for sharing with us..have a nice day...i hope in this year god will gives you all health and wealth to you..

Thank you for sharing such beautiful pictures of delicious food I wish I would visit that restaurant for its experience I wish you a happy birthday with more success in the New Year

Nice! I love Ceviche... Made some myself last year:

Please check my posts as well. Best wishes from Germany!

great blog friend...keep it up..

very teasty food sir.
thanks for searing.

It is really good DQmPvziZjvqGVmWF87b7gtwyebBQx7gThMdiDN8BRSVHfsS.pngpost. already followed and upvoted

This should be a very nice food. Lovely

wow i like it.

wow...hear some amazing food...the food looking so great...i like it...i hope everybody like your post...thanx for shear

vary testy,,, wonderful food, nice post, thanks for sharing

It's not a little taste, it's a best taste

Well described your experience there. Outstanding photography.

These are a lot of dishes. I've got to reach Aymara to have a taste of this. This kind of exotic meal is served here in selected restaurants in Uganda. But it's a lot expensive to afford.

There are 2 pages
Pages