🌳#TreeTuesday ‘The Invisible Oak Tree and Munch’s Ekely’ By @janusface

in #norway7 years ago (edited)

I like these challenges on Steemit. It get you focused on colors, beauty in life and overall get you more attentive to your surroundings. I had this epiphany, that I do not know what the oldest tree in Oslo is.
I googled and it was supposedly the ‘Munch’s oak’ a stones throw from Munch’s former home and atelier, Ekely.

So, I went on to search for this mysterious oak.

However, even though I searched and searched, I could not find it.
Can a tree just disappear?

However, I found something cooler and unexpected.

This is Munch's Ekely, hidden behind a large Copper Beech.

IMG_20170801_144302.jpg

And a part of the Munch Museum

IMG_20170801_144234.jpg

Edvard Munch (1863-1944) was a Norwegian painter and printmaker with intensely psychological themes, with his The Scream of 1893 is one of his best known works.

In the extremely huge garden in Ekely there are a lot of old, mostly apples trees. It appears that Munch himself was fond of these trees.

Apple Tree by the Studio
1920–28 / Oil on canvas / 110 x 110 cm
Munch Museum

IMG_20170801_143754.jpg

Today, the tree is much older and wiser perhaps.

IMG_20170801_143905.jpg

It still got apples, though.

IMG_20170801_143945.jpg

Two Women in the Garden
1919 / Oil on canvas / 149 x 129,5 cm
Munch Museum

IMG_20170801_144050.jpg

No women in the garden today, however. But the tree is still here.

IMG_20170801_144103.jpg

Here you can see more tree-inspired Munch paintings, but I guess you have to be a Steemionaire to buy one!

source

I really love Munch’s paintings. They are very colorful, lively and expressional and combined with trees, it gives you a perfect TreeTuesday!

Photos taken by @janusface on August 1 2017 with a Huawei Honor 5X (no editing)

Thank you for your time and attention. Steem on!

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Sort:  

its really beautifull photos of Munch's Ekely sir old is great i hope it have own history this is great tree and ur photo shots are also good of this tree @janusface sir

Awesome photographs sir these trees looks so Beautiful and attractive.

sure a beautifull place and also its beauty is thats tree which have natural beauty and natural is the best beauti but i think its beauty is not decrease before hidden back to beach

Nice: ' beauty is not decrease before hidden back to beach': Very poetic imo!

yes u are righ real beauty is not decrease if it hidden beach or anythin..and natural is the best beauty

What a beautiful oak tree.
I can't believe there is so much history behind a tree but I guess hey are really old and some even date back to centuries ago.
Great Photographs @janusface

Nice information

Glad you like it:)

Have you seen my Bunghole? My people; we are without Bungholes...

So fascinating to watch and interesting to know about them

Amazing images and great info!

that are nice tree's you shot their with your camera! They look like trees with wisdom. I love them.

Great post @janusface! Good to see that the tree has its history and it is still there : So the tree is stable than woman, right?

A tree is much more stable than a woman:)

Upvote follow and resteemed sir very nice pics.

Munch’s paintings are so great. Great those old trees still got apples and nice photography. Thanks for sharing :)

Great photos. All green and great painting too @janusface!

Very beautiful to look at the green grass with the tree!

It's the beautiful and peaceful place! I wish I could be there!

I want to visit there to see such a wonderful view of the nature.

Great photo shots. I love the tree. Thanks you for sharing this beautiful photo.

Great share of tree photography @janusface! Looks like a cool place!

My eyes are so cheerful to look at these photos. You are great in taking photos. They are so green.

Thanks you for sharing the history of the tree. Great information.
I resteemed and upvoted it now :)

This post received a 4.0% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @janusface! For more information, click here!

I'm Loving these paintings. . . .

This post has received a 16.48 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @janusface.

@janusface got you a $1.65 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@janusface got you a $1.65 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!