Introduction - What Is This Woodworking Tool From 1761 Called?

in #norway7 years ago (edited)

Introduction
Hi again!
Now, yesterdays post was a bit of a test to see how everything was working.
Well, now that I have some of the basics figured out, I thought I could introduce myself properly.
I'm 23 years old, live in Norway and have a full time job as a costumer care agent.
Because I mainly sit still for 40 hours a week, I need some way to release some steam in the weekends.
I found that a few hobbies would help me out in that sense.
Some of those hobbies are fishing, woodworking, gardening, drawing, knives, axes and restoring antique tools.

Fishing
I grew up far from civilisation, without cell phone reception, practically without neighbours, so with me and a fishing rod in hand and the sea just outside my window, that's where I feel I belong the most.Hårnes.jpg

Gardening
Fishing is something I would to more often, but since the house pictured above is our vacation home, the home I grew up in, I'm not there very often.
Therfore I turned over to gardening! Growing a few plants here and there, keeps my mind off work, and having a little bit of green in the livingroom windows during winter keeps the whole house sane.
I found out the hard way that gardening in Norway was a bit more tricky than other places. We can't plant anything outside before middle of May, and all the plants are dead and gone in the middle of october.
Because we live close to the sea still, salt in the ground and the air is yet another challenge.
The sunrise and sunset is also a bit of a problem. Take today for instance. The sun rises at 3.16AM and sets at 11PM.
Plants need e bit of rest in the dark to recover, as we do, so vegetables that are not native to this area have a hard time surviving just because we don't have enough darkness in the summertime.
A simple setup with a few raised garden beds, good soil and enough organic matter helps the plants last into July when the nights gets darker.
5516659372303905545-account_id=1.jpg

Woodworking And Tools
The most recent hobby I've aquired is woodworking and antique tools. Restoring the old and bringing it all back to life.
It's a wonderful experience to to aquire a old, neglected tool, grapping a bit of sandpaper and oil, and then giving it new life.
I won't go much into detail on this theme, but I thought I could show you all a picture of the oldest tool that I've found digging through scraps and junk in the barn I mentioned yesterday!
If anyone can give me the english word for this tool, I would much appreciate it!2060758784585258911-account_id=1.jpg
It is carved "1761" on the handle, and the makers mark is on the other side!
A true relic from the past.

Thank you again for reading!
Writing is not my strongest side at all, but at least I hope you will find the pictures interesting!

Sort:  

as one who's only language is english and I does butcher it badly at times I can tell you sir that your post's are very well written for the most part :) I forgot to mention that I found you through @daddykirbs keep up the good work. thanks for sharing

Thank you so much! :)

Velkommen!!

(Follows in Norwegian)

Veldig kult å se nordmenn her inne!

Personlig er jeg veldig interessert i småskala gårdsbruk. (Planting, bygging av små strukturer o.l)

Prøver å sette opp en liten økolandsby i Marokko! (Riktignok veldig anderledes klima) men utrolig hvor mange fellesnevnere jeg finner fordetom!

Gleder meg til å lese flere poster av deg! :)

Takk for det!
Har sansen selv for småskala, hvor kvalitet er lagt i sentrum!
Ikke bare bare å starte opp slikt der heller tenker jeg. Lykke til med det prosjektet :)

oysteinholand, if the bottom of your tool is "threaded" it could be a hand agar. Something used to drill holes into the ground.

That could be the word :) Yes it is threaded, but used to drill holes in planks :) I know the Norwegian word (Gjengetappe), but can't find the english word for it

Your post is very good! I'm sure you will gain traction here fast on Steemit if you keep this up. Nice work :)

Thank you! I hope to make atleast a small impact in time :)

Make "introduceyourself" your first tag. This will put you in a category that people look for.

Fancy meeting you here Daddy Kirbs. <3

Congratulations @oysteinholand! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am so sad I didn't get to visit Norway when I was living in Europe! I really wanted to get proper tools for lefse... Priorities... Hahah. I am part Norwegian, Finnish, and Swedish. A very unique Scandi right here. ;) haha.

Your raised beds are gorgeous! I assume you have built them yourself?! Great work there. Are wood materials very expensive there? That's not something I ever thought of looking at when I lived in Germany.

I am really looking forward to your posts!!

Thank you! and Yes, I built them myself :) If I remember correctly, untreated 2"8" costed a bit under $4 pr.meter (about 3 feet). All in all, I think I payed around $200 for lumber, screws etc. I don't know what prices you are used to, but I think I got a pretty good deal on it :)

Here our two by fours (inches) vary in price by length. An 8 foot 2x4 is around $3.75 usd. Thanks for saying! Does seem a bit more expensive in comparison to here! I guess depending on the type of wood you used! I know cedar is much more expensive than pine or fir, for instance. :) thanks for sharing! I'm looking forward to more of your posts!

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Thank you! I'm following you too now :)

Welcome to steemit.
Looks like a giant Tap and die tool. Does it create threads in a whole?

I am very confident that is a tap for making threads in a previously drilled hole. There is a corresponding die that makes the threads on the shaft . Not uncommon back then but you have a beautiful and still functional tool. Thanks for sharing it with us. many blessings

Thank you!
Yes, it does :) I don't dare to use it just because the handle is so fragile after so many years, but back in the day it shuld have been able to make wooden threads :) Thank you for clearing that up!