What is Nothing?

in #nothing6 years ago (edited)

You ever think about nothing? Have you ever thought about what nothing is? Well you might say, "Nothing is nothing." But what does that mean?

Now when people actually think about what nothing is, they usually just think of dark empty space. See, I just described nothing with... well, something. How can dark empty space be nothing when it is dark. empty. space? I don't know about you Steemers, but I think it's fascinating that nobody truly even knows what nothing is. Nothing is literally unimaginable...

So tell me, what is nothing?

Sort:  

I just don't get it. What is "nothing"? If "something" is to be created, then something that is not created is nothing. We can say that there are more "nothing" than "something". Something is finite. Nothing is infinite. If nothing is the absence of something, what comes first?

I remember studying math theory and my professor brought up the "empty set". The empty set is 0 but the cardinality is 1.

My brain hurts. I passed this class already, but I still can't fathom that there are multiple infinities. Some infinities are bigger than others...

Love it! and I definitely think nothing comes first because like you said, something is finite while nothing is infinite,, so something must have started somewhere while nothing did not

Congratulations @dyllydylly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!