#NowPlaying Week 1: Whitney - Light Upon the Lake

in #nowlistening6 years ago (edited)

On some work days where it's more production than thinking, I take the opportunity to explore a bunch of related artists on Spotify while I work. I usually pick one artist I really like and go through as many as possible that day. Sometimes it turns into multiple days if I've found a lot of gems through it.

ANYWAYS, recently I went off of Unknown Mortal Orchestra, and came across the drummer's other band, Whitney. It is a combo of him, and Max Kakacek, guitarist from Smith Westerns.

I believe they only have the one album, Light Upon the Lake, but I've been thoroughly enjoying it. It's an easy listen, and it knows it. It's short, not doing anything super out-of-the-box, and lyrics that can be on the typical lovey songs side, but man did it hit home for me. There is a ton of variation between each song to grab your mood and take it every which way, enjoying every ebb and flow of it.

These two have been my favorites:

The Falls: The combo of lyrics and instrumentals in this one make me laugh and smile. I took the lyrics to be about an overwhelming altered state, but it's such a happy-go-lucky feel supporting them. It has this playful hopefulness that downplays the situation to not be as serious. It certainly puts me in a good mood.

Golden Days: Warning- two listens of this one and you'll start humming it, followed by a "Dammit Whitney!"