Get out of my face! I hate alphabet soup.

in #nsa6 years ago

Quick hack to keep them from sending your data including photos

off to the Utah Data Center

hack

The Galaxy S8 Note looks all black when the screen is off, just the ear piece stands out. But the phone really has an all glass front and back so if you shine a bright light at it, you will see the front facing "selfie" cam and its sensor. There are actually six ports plus the ear piece up top part of the phone..

Today I would like to finally get around to the quick fix for making the selfie cam useless for people like me who never use it. Some of the hacks released in Vault7 allow controld of Android devices. I have seen them in action. I really don't need them watching me sleep or type my posts. See this post which prompted me to remember and share this trick: Why I am writing this post.

You'll need a qtip and elmers glue

This hack can be undone and redone many times with no damage to the device.

Put two round beads of glue over the camera and sensor.

Then take a small thin bit of a qtip cotton and make a ball out of it.

The ball should be 1/4 the size of the beaded of glue.

You will then put the cotton ball into the top of the glue and let it dry.

for flatter lumps on your phone, press on them lightly when the glue is not quite dry inside and it will be much flatter.

done phone

Here is a shot of what the phone looks like after

Normal in appearance without a bright light (flash). Even looking closely, you can't see what we have done. The selfie camera is on and it can pick up that there is a light in the room but my face is right in front of the camera and it's cloudy. No definition.

That is why we put cotton into the glue. The glue alone, if dabbed over the camera lens, dries so clear, that you can actually use the camera normally. It may appear dirty but actually it has a thick layer of glue on it so.... Tried that - no thanks.

for tomorrow's

Yeah, so that is it for this post. I did want to show you what you need to do to manage the cheapo phone holders in order to do a two handed bench film on finding the iris scanner and disabling it. Tomorrow's post? Two phone-pods and a laptop (not in use) to hold a camera above the phone as I work. Fell one time, then I used glue on the suction cup. No quality these days.

I stuck it on and started filming. Used a light to find the iris scanner, and disable it. You will see tomorrow. It looks like some sort of hologram projector rather than an iris scanner.

Final product, dry and in macro

3c935eb1-7d8e-4f84-a7fb-02ab391b5c83.jpg

to undo this hack, a drop of water on the glue, set aside 30 minutes and clean with a towel.

I used a bit more cotton in the left one which is the camera. I am not sure if the iris scanner will be evenly covered on center. I had all those supports and wires to get a film of me doing it. It's not the best film - I am so not pro at this film and dTube stuff.

Well you judge for yourselves tomorrow. Remember if your phone is on your desk and you have sensitive info on your screen, the camera can pick it up and transmit it to the storage facility.

bytzz.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this. Will repost it.

that's wonderful information, this is pretty much good model "Galaxy S8 Note"
But I want to buy Iphone.

Hi @bytzz I like your post,,

hi Bytzz, i have an app for imac whit the same purpose i think, which is called micro snitch. You are right, everything can happen. I saw you liked a post of mine and as seen you make good posts and you are quite invested i think we could try to follow each other. Byby

This is amazing tricks, you are using in camera.
I felt strange you are told about in last lines, really its happen? I'll try it 🙂

Thanks for sharing @bytzz Now we know the tricks :) Thanks alot.

Hey, nice post ! I like your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Congratulations !

Glad to see you here. Thanks for voting and commenting. :)

This news is very essential for us thank you so much dear @bytzz. For this type of news i always follow you...

Good post, I like it @bytzz

Maybe you can buy galaxy s9 my brother @bytzz, galaxy s9 is booming in indonesia, its camera is very amazing with some new fiture, thanks for your sharing to us valuable information, i like your post and have upvote and resteem your post to more than 1770 my follower, greeting friendship from me @abialfatih in aceh indonesia

I see the #aceh tag growing. The countries that have many on Steemit first will dominate the platform when it becomes very successful. You are one of them! Best of luck.

Its right, Thank you very much for your kind and support to me brother @bytzz

Well I think S9+ is in the market now, much more powerful, beautiful than the S8, I really loved the cotton glue trick of yours, a good trick for selfie haters.

I don't hate selfies, but I don't take them often. I hate hackers who may get in and turn on my camera - see the link in the post - it was a meme about the recent news.

It's true I think, government agencies spy your actions via selfie camera

I losted my language how to know you thanks. Dear, @bytzz thanks for sharing this news

excellent tutorial friend and if it helps me protect my privacy, I love your post greetings

Thanks - you are one of the few who know the value of a real and sincere comment.

really very good, a very good camera. very good camera with a very good quality too. i do not really understand about the camera, but with your post I understand this. . upvote and resteem your post.

post is very nice kawan@bytzz. i am very happy with shooting an object. thanks to your post i know which camera is good and that is not nice. your post is very helpful.

Very good article and tutorial about smartphone Camera Samsung galaxy is very good, thank you very much mrv@bytzz, regard

Good job my friend @bytzz, your information is very usefull, many people in the world use samsung galaxy smartphone, i vote and resteem your post ok...thank you

Postingan yang bagus kawan,,terima kasih sudah share

Very informative thanks for sharing. @bytzz have a nice day!

Thanks for sharing friend,, good post

I like your post,,thank to share,,regards @inoer

Nice. Thanks for sharing the undo thingy. Please post more technique 💕

I plan to. Coming soon....

Wow!
It's amazing tip.
Will try it for sure,
Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you @bytzz for sharing the tips how to making selfie cam useless, I didn't like selfie too lol.

Galaxy S8 note is really an amazing smartphone. I use Galaxy J7 Max but if i have more money then i will buy this smartphone. I appreciate your excellent description and review.

I'm also not using selfie cam as I'm not a selfie lover. I hate to make useless face poses to get a good selfie.
Post was worth reading for me ❤️

WOW! You are genius. This is wonderful hack. Front camera is also useless for me. I'm not much fond of it.

Very imformative @bytzz thanks fir sharing good job
I like samsung galaxy n 8

Your post is very good,,I like

nice information
there is no info safe in phone nowadays.
all the apps are using our valuabe data ,spying us .it is turning more ugly day by day

Thanks for sharing great Tips to make our selfie cam useless.
Reminder: 1 of the Tag in this post is misspelled (facebook instead of facebood).
Upvoted!

I'm not trying it, lol. Because I don't have any problem with the front cam.
Actually, I never heard of doing this before. And I am very happy for you that you found a way to get rid of it without damaging the device.

hahaha, That is a great discovery. I will try that too!.
Thanks for sharing with us!

You chose a Very easy way to do that.
Thanks for your sharing with us! I upvoted and resteemed your post. Success always for you @bytzz

wow, That's a great Idea @bytzz & Nicely written. I always love to read your posts my friend.