Why I Like Steemit

in #nsfw6 years ago

Why do I like Steemit? Well the obvious answer would be that we can make real money here, and while that's certainly true, my second reason is a bit more personal. As a bodypainter, and someone who doesn't vilify the human body, I have been known to post risque items on social media at times. This includes my own artwork as well as photos from fellow artists, models and photographers, and even some memes that may be NSFW in some minds.

I mean I don't go posting violent or hateful things. Just photos or stories showing the human body. What's wrong with that? We were all born naked. Why then tell us it's evil and immoral as we grow older? But that's what people do. Many believe a naked human body is vastly worse than showing videos of car accidents, fires, shootings or even beheadings. How did we get to the point where we're allowed to show videos of teenagers shot dead in a school but a simple picture of a woman's breast and nipple is instantly banned?

That's what happened to me just an hour ago on Facebook, and when I DARED to share a short GIF from the movie Euro Trip that showed an outtake of a scene from the movie where actress Michelle Trachtenberg flashed on coming traffic. Of course I was given an immediate 30 day suspension for sharing "offensive" material. However, plastered on countless of other pages throughout Facebookland are still pictures and videos from the recent school shooting in Florida. How those videos are still allowed to stay up while a sexy, yet harmless, photo of a young woman showing her breasts in a movie is beyond my comprehension.

That is the reason why I like Steemit so much. Because of the NSFW feature which allows you to post material that may be objectionable to some, but only viewable if someone chooses to uncover the link to view it. I mean how difficult would it be for Facebook, Instagram or Twitter to implement such a feature themselves? If Steemit can do it, they can certainly do it as well. In the meantime, and as I was out my 30 day fail sentence from Facebook, I'll have more time to post here, and to post things that would otherwise get me banned anywhere else. Just like this GIF of Michelle Trachtenberg flashing her naked breasts in the movie Euro Trip...

michelle_trachtenberg_flash2.gif