[CR] Put a face on it!

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

My mission for the day? Putting a face on my avocado!

Needle felting facial features on something the size of a cherry was a HUGE challenge! I couldn’t use too little fabric or else it wouldn’t be bold enough but too much would alter the desired shapes. I had to switch between needles to blend the fabrics and eliminate the fluff since the goal is for the felt to stick together.

If I could do anything differently, then I’d probably use thread for the face instead. This isn’t my first time attempting to felt faces on something teeny tiny so I don’t know why I didn’t think of thread sooner! I just have to get a bigger needle so it doesn’t get trapped between the compacted fibers.

I spent maybe six hours total on this grumpy avocado and I didn’t feel like stopping to take progress shots. Once I get a decent desk lamp then I’ll start recording hyper lapse footage to share. While working on this I had the realty show, Skin Wars: Fresh Paint, playing in the background. RuPaul is hosting the show and it’s playing tricks on me because when I look up I’m expecting to see drag queens not artists.

Next, I’ll be sculpting a cute little strawberry but before I do that I’m going to take a break to either edit photos or sketch.


Thanks for stopping by to view my work! 🦊

>

Sort:  

[ nTOPAZ COORDINATOR ]

Very creative @vermillionfox. Wow Six hours is a long time, Congratulations! I take this opportunity to invite you to use the nTopaz photo carousel, remember you can upload to 10 images in your publication. =)


You want to learn more about nTOPAZ ?
Follow @ntopaz to be informed about new contests. Visit our website to discover the artworks from the community. Or just join our Discord server to chat with other users and get help from the team.

Introduction to nTOPAZ · Guide for CO, CR, and CU

Ohhh! I didn’t know you could upload up to ten. Thanks for letting me know.

Wow, six hours! That's longer than I've worked on anything in my entire life.

Haha! I know, time consuming! It’s definitely a leisure activity but it can’t be rushed or you’ll get poked...and it hurts.

It looks annoyed that you woke it up from its nap XD

YES! This is actually how I look when my sleep is disturbed. 😆

I'm a bit behind on everyone's posts. Oh heavens this is ADORABLE!

I used to felt once upon a time. I made little animals (no surprise there) and even sold a few on etsy, but it was hard work and my fingers were a bit bloody and since I needed them to hold paintbrushes I let it go. I gave away all my wool/felt needles laptop foam thing all that.

This is such a cute one. If you are going to be making to sell, he's a wonderful idea.

I remember you telling me about your felt animals! I bet they looked amazing. Bloody fingers is right. I pricked myself twice today and boy did it sting.

I was thinking that maybe I’d make a bunch of fruit characters to sell. @kommienezuspadt suggested that I take commissions but I’m not sure I’m up for that.

Very cute, foxi ! The avocado has gained a personality with that face on ! :D