[CR] Vibrantly colored goldfish

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

ntopaz-image-1

ntopaz-image-2

ntopaz-image-3

ntopaz-image-4

ntopaz-image-5

ntopaz-image-6

ntopaz-image-7

ntopaz-image-8

ntopaz-image-9

After my running studies, I made an attempt to ink another drawing but I must’ve burned myself out. It didn’t go too well so I began sketching one of my favorite subjects, goldfish. :) Usually, I’d sketch several fish and color them simply but I continued to layer more colors until it transformed into this vibrant creature. This is probably my best goldfish so far!

I’d love to make an animation of a swimming fish. The thought seems so adorable!

All my drawings are original sketches drawn digitally by me on the Procreate App using the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil.


I started by sketching out my goldfish with a pencil tool in a green pencil. With that same tone, I switched to a round brush to color it in lightly. Gradually, I began to darken areas for shadows using a deeper green blue tone. I added a wash of gray to the background so I could add highlights with a vibrant neon green. Then I began softening those highlights with a pastel yellow. After I was satisfied with the diffusion, I began to layer in several shades of red, then a red-orange and finally yellow. I lightly painted on a pale blue and the smallest amount of white to the ends of the fins. Finishing the image with outlined highlights around the curves of the body and scales.



I’m off to take an afternoon nap!

Thanks for stopping by to view my work!🦊

>>
Sort:  



This post has been manually selected, curated and upvoted by CI mod staff team. Supporting all posts that are in high quality and don’t get enough recognition.



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was voted: 100%

Thank you!

Prosze!~ :D :D

Delightful! I was just at a Koi pond a little bit ago. Relevant or not, your picture reminded me of it :P

IMG_20190225_162846.jpg

That’s so lovely! I wish I could have a little picnic in that area and enjoy the view!

That's incredible. It's amazing how some people can just turn things into life on paper. What's the step between the last two sketches, I can't really see the difference.

Thank you! It’s funny because I surprise myself sometimes with how realistic my work is. The picture is a bit compressed so it’s hard to tell but the very last image has white highlights in the fins, scales and outline of the fish. If you look closely at the head, mainly around the mouth, then you might spot the difference. :)

So lovely, foxi ! The lighting and colours are done so nicely that it has that fishy shimmer ! I love the detailing on the scales also <3 You should totally try to animate a swimming fish, because that sounds like very awesome!!!

Yes!!! You noticed the shimmer!!! I worked so hard to get that highlight to look juuuust right! Not sure if I could sketch out a super detailed fish animation but a very cute simple one would work. ^^

I like that since you paint this with layers and layers of different colours, the final result looks rich and exciting :).

I’m very happy with the success of the colors as well! I noticed that if I keep the layers thin then all the colors will come through. So happy that you’re enjoying my goldfish. :)

I , too, love goldfish and koi. They are always a good go to for design, too, and what's funny is I have a real goldfish in my tank that looks similar to this guy :)

Good job, too, by the way @vermillionfox. How is the snow?

Do you really? What a coincidence! I’d love to see a picture! 😃

Amazing, the goldfish looks so real :O

Thank you!! The highlights and shadows play a huge role in making this look super realistic!