How easy it is to turn $1 into $1,000,000 on 20 coin flips!!

in #numbers2 years ago (edited)

Number, numbers, numbers. We are surrounded by numbers all day every day. Numbers can be magic and blow your mind at the same time. Here, you wanna be a millionaire? If you have $1 and double it up 10 times, you'll end up with $1.05million. Go to a roulette table with $1 and get 20 blacks or reds in a row to retire! Sounds easy? It might be, you try and let me know 😎

image.png

If you take 6 and multiply it by any even number, the answer's last digit will be the same as the even number you picked. Why? I dont know but I like it. This one is even better, start with any number. If it is even, divide it by 2, if it is odd, multiply it by 3 and add 1. Keep doing this, even write it down to make a sequence. Whatever you pick to start with, you'll always end on 1.

35 > 106 > 53 > 160 > 80 > 40 -> 20 -> 10 -> 5 -> 16 -> 8 -> 4 -> 2 -> 1

image.png

Pretty cool stuff and we've all seen these sorts of numbers tricks before. As crypto investors, numbers are very important to us so understanding some basic things is important. Things like when an investment we hold drops by 50% it has to increase by 100% to get back to break even. Yeah, not alot of people think in these terms but that's the way it is. If HIVE drops 20% in 1 day and increases by 20% the next day, you might think break even but it's not.

image.png

What about the 72, 114 and 144 rules? You can easily work out how long it will take for an investment to either double (72) triple (114) or quadruple (144) in value. As an example, you save $2000 in something that earns you back 8% per year. To double your money you do it like this (72/8) to get 9 years. To triple your money, its, (114/8) equals 14.25 years or for quadruple (144/8) equals 18 years. Useless information you think? I say useless until required 🤔

image.png

Wanna work out and see how wealthy you are or are not? Try this simple wealth trick based on your age and income. Work out your net worth, this is your assets minus your liabilities. Once you know your net worth, grab a calculator and input your age and multiply it by your pre-tax income and divide by 10. If your net worth is twice this answer, you are wealthy.

image.png

When that time of the year comes round and it's payrise time, here's an easy trick you can use to figure out in your head your new yearly salary assuming you work full-time, 40 hours per week. Multiply it by 2000. You get $20 per hour, multiply that by 2 and add the 3 zeros to get $40k. You get $32.25 per hour, you get 64.50, add the 3 zeros and boom $64.5k per year.
This will give you give 50 weeks pay.

image.png

Dont get me started on using maths to help with your poker game, hold em poker. I could write a whole post on its own about poker maths tricks. Im running out of time and my bed is calling me and I know if I start to write about poker, I'll wanna play poker. I dont have a problem are everything 😆

I've always liked numbers because I have always been good with numbers. I like them and they like me and we have a good relationship. Numbers dont lie and there's always an answer that can be worked. Some people are words people, I dont like words, they are misleading, they can be twisted and used to screw people, you dont get that with numbers. If you're a words person, my beef is not with you so you can relax. The fact is, im, not a great reader and my spelling and grammar are terrible. I have no problems reading but I dont read fast and writing a 500-word post takes me about 2 hours, lol but I get there. I could do both SPI and LBI weekly reports in less time because it's just looking at numbers, inputting numbers, working out numbers and it feels very easy and natural to do for me.

What do you think of numbers? Do you even think of numbers? prob not, why would you?

Hope you enjoyed the post and found it entertaining. Have a great day.

image.png

Sort:  

My favourite is that percentage calculations are reversible.
So 8% of 25 is too hard to work out in your head.
25% of 8 is easy, but its the same answer. 2

Oh here, that is a good one. Thanks for sharing man :)

"If you have $1 and double it up 10 times, you'll end up with $1.05 million"

1$ 2$ 4$ 8$ 16$ 32$ 64$ 128$ 256$ 512$ 1024$
I'm not millionaire why?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ha, it's 20 times. OMG!!!

Being good in math helped me in my whole career. I worked in pensions, investments and (pension) accounting whole my career. The 72/% rule I knew as no other. But with current zero% it delivers an error outcome !