A Snowy Tundra Is A Beautiful Thing

in #nunavut3 years ago

DSCN0085.JPG

People often try to dunk on the tundra, saying it's so barren and empty. But I honestly do not see a difference in looking at this compared to a tree covered mountain. Woo you have a vast swath of green to look at BIG DEAL! Trees grow on like 90% of the land on the world. They're not special.

DSCN0018.JPG

Now this landscape, an empty, rocky, snow-covered land is truly unique! A place so harsh to what we think of as "human conditions." But people live here. Willingly. They've done it for thousands of years. And they aren't leaving any time soon. Neither am I.

DSCN0024.JPG

I grew up on the prairie of Saskatchewan. A province mostly famous for being flat and boring. (It's not but the highways from Alberta to Manitoba sure are! Shhhhh it's our little secret) So I am used to the flat empty look of the frozen arctic ocean. It reminds me of empty farmers' fields over winter. But you know one thing the prairie and all those glorious trees (minus evergreens) don't have in the Canadian winter time?

Colour!

DSCN0098.JPG

I absolutely love the colour of the rocks up here. I will be honest, a lot of the colour is Lichen. The orange you see in the above photo is a type of Lichen that can SURVIVE IN SPACE! I'll be posting more photos of the lichen up here over the next few days. Rocks are finally being exposed on the tundra and the plants are rip-roarin' and ready to go!

DSCN0077.JPG

Wonderful area for snowmobiling as well!

DSCN0090.JPG

Anyway, this was just a bit of a rant towards all those people who think they're dunking on me by calling this place barren. If you think this place is ugly you need to come up here and see it in real life. Your opinion will change on a dime. There's plenty of life and beauty here.

Why does it look like I only shaved half my face? Beauty mode glitch? I swear my stubble is even!

Sort:  

Looks like a fucking epic place to snowmobile.. fuuuuck

Congratulations @lacking! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

False-Positive phishing alert reported by antivirus software
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!