[Nursing School meets Steemit][Adult temperature ranges at different body sites]Follow along and educate yourself with me.

in #nursing6 years ago (edited)

Temperature Ranges at Different Body Sites:

As you may probably know there are multiple sites on the body to get a temperature. I will give an example of all the sites and what the normal ranges are for each site.


Different Body Sites:

  • Oral - (In the mouth)

36.0-37.6 C
(96.8-99.68 F)


  • Axillary - (Under the arm)

35.5-37.0 C
(95.9-98.6 F)


  • Rectal - (In the anus)

34.4-37.8 C
(93.92-100.04 F)


  • Tympaic - (In the ear)

35.6-37.4 C
(96.08-99.32 F)


  • Temporal - (Across the forehead)

36.1-37.3 C
(96.98-99.14 F)

Source Picture


Thanks for reading another one of my posts. I hope you are keeping up with all of my medical posts and learning some stuff. These post will help you understand your body better, so tune in! If you have any questions feel free to ask and I will do my best to answer them.

Follow me @intrepidthinker for more.

Here are some of my other recent medical posts:


Recommended content:

@matt-a, @robrigo, @kotturinn, @tommyinthesun, @modernnomad, @broester, @sid-the-kid, @madscientistx13, @cavalry , @pmill, @funkymunky20000, @joeysays, @amille, @forester-joe, @robomode, @jaredland, @nicolelang

Sort:  

This is one of the most useful posts for me personally that i've come across, thank you

No problem! Glad it helped.

I truly did not know that there were difference in temperature. I remember nurses taken my temperature orally and sometimes under my arm pits. Wouldn't want one taken from up my rectum.

Yeah we can get them from a bunch of different places. Hahaha Yeah I'd say the rectal temp. is everyone's least favorite one. Sometimes it's the only one that will give you the most accurate reading. Just hope all the other sites are available. Lol

It's actually the thought of it that frightens me. Like when we were kids, every school had a dental care unit. Going to the dental nurse was always filled with fear. Oh how I now wish I took full advantage of that free dental care then?

Damn your school had a dental care unit? Where are you from? Lol I wish mine would've had that.

This was in New Zealand during the 70's. Every school had an on site dental clinic. However it started to be phased out in the 80's. WE use to have our names called out over the schools PA system. When that happened you could see students trebling with fear. I too would be trebling with fear if sometime had to stick something up my ass! lol

That's pretty cool of New Zealand to have that available for the students. I wonder why they quit doing it. It would be unheard of here in the U.S.

Hahaha every young kids nightmare.

There was a time ,especially during the 70's when New Zealand was the envy of the world. We had the best medical facilities,hospitals, free health care, best education system-bar none (Universities were free), free Plunket service ( which provided free baby care for mothers and children and also kept a running record of each child's health and growth), each child received a fortnightly payment as part of the family benefits program, we signed away our rights to sue to adopt the ACC program-which made weekly payments to you (you could also get a bulk payment) if you were ever injured at work or sports. We had free swimming pools, parks etc. This helped NZ produce some truly world class athletes. Peter Snell, John Walker as examples
Many organisations around the world use to travel to NZ to learn how we did things. The Government of the day had only had 4 things to concentrate its efforts on. Health, education,lifestyle and business.
Sadly as the 1980s roll in all of the above started to slowly disappear and each sector slowly eroded.
The government in the 80's started its campaign for the so called "Big business initiative" and sadly this idea has continued to the present day. WE now have serious problems within the country. Crime rates have increased. Prison population has increased. The following are all the other things that have increased, Child murder, gang affiliations, prices to attend University, obesity, cost of living, Auckland is now the 4th most expensive city to live in, behind Paris, Tokyo, London and Melbourne. The list goes on and on. Sorry didn't realize I was ranting! Lol

I do not wish to.