[Nursing School meets Steemit][Pulse Sites(9 in total)]Follow along and educate yourself with me.

in #nursing6 years ago (edited)

Pulse Sites:

I'd say most people only know a couple pulse sights on the human body, but in this post you will learn everyone of them. The most common ones that people tend to know about are just the Carotid(Neck), and the Radial(Wrist) pulses.


  • Temporal - (Side of Head)

Where the temporal artery passes over the temporal bone of the head, above and lateral to the eye; used when the radial post is not accessible.


  • Carotid - (Neck)

At the side of the neck where the Carotid artery runs between the trachea and the sternocleidomastoid muscle; used in cases of cardiac arrest and determining circulation to the brain.


  • Apical or PMI - (Chest)

Apical, at the apex of the heart, and PMI, at the fifth intercostal space, midclavicular line; used for infants and children up to three years of age, placed in the supine position, to determine discrepancies with radial pulse, and used in adults in conjunction with some diseases and medications and during a head to toe assessment.


  • Brachial - (Arm)

At the inter aspect of the arm; used to assess pulse in pediatric emergencies and to measure blood pressure.


  • Radial - (Wrist)

On the thumb side of the inter aspect of the wrist where the radial artery runs along the radial bone.


  • Femoral - (Inner thigh)

Where the femoral artery passes along side the inguinal ligament; used in cases of cardiac arrest and for assessing circulation to the led.


  • Popliteal - (Back of knee)

Behind the knee where the popliteal artery passes; used to determine circulation to the lower leg.


  • Posterior tibial - (Inside ankle)

Medial surface of the ankle; used to determine circulation to the foot.


  • Pedal (dorsalis pedis) - (Top of foot)

Where the dorsalis pedis artery passes across the top of the foot.

Source Picture


Thanks for reading another one of my posts. I hope you are keeping up with all of my medical posts and learning some stuff. These post will help you understand your body better, so tune in! If you have any questions feel free to ask and I will do my best to answer them.

Follow me @intrepidthinker for more.

Here are some of my other recent medical posts:


Recommended content:

@matt-a, @robrigo, @kotturinn, @tommyinthesun, @modernnomad, @broester, @sid-the-kid, @madscientistx13, @cavalry , @pmill, @funkymunky20000, @joeysays, @amille, @forester-joe, @robomode, @jaredland, @nicolelang

Sort:  

What's up intrepidthinker! your posting some really useful material with this series. Keep up the nice work! I'm working on getting my steem up. For starters my next post is gonna by my introduction post I never did one. I think that should help a little.

Thanks man! An introductory post definitely would help. People like knowing who they are following. Give it some time and you will be reaping the benefits of the platform.

I wish to

You wish to?

I wish to also !

Hahaha!!! All 3 of us are wishing.

Yes i see ???

???

What? I was asking what you were talking about. It didn't make any sense.

I saying i wish keeping touch to anything can helped

I like to know more about

I'm starting to make out a little bit of what you are saying. Lol If you want to know more check out some of my other posts.