The Nutcracker and the Four Realms - My review

in #nutcracker6 years ago

I am completely passionate by the Nutcracker story, about Clara and the little soldiers of lead and the Rat King! And, of course, by the ballet! So, when I heard about that they would be venturing into bringing it to the movies in a relecturing way, I was thrilled!

This movie is an entirely new experience! We see old well-knowns presented in a new enchanting way. We see new characters rise up to the challenge and a plot twist that makes us question some things we think we know about the original story.

In the beginning, the movie had a slow pace which lead me to believe I would not find what I was looking for, what the trailer had given me craving for. I would like to have a little more of the ballet during the presentation. However, all original songs were there. And having danced ballet for a long part of my life (in order to fix a twisted knee) I felt very close the soundtrack and it got me so emotinal! Luckily, my best friend took some naps while watching the movie by my side, so he didn't get to see how much I was crying all over!

As the plot unfolds, we get to see more of the characters, more of their personalities and even re-create their images inside our heads. I can safely say that this movie did not deliver what I was expecting, but it dazzled me all the same because it surprised me in a turn of events I could not have predict! The photography and costume design are amazing. Although, I have to say that some moments bothered me (maybe a little more than they should have), because I cannot see how an infant like Clara lead a regiment through a dark threatening almost cursed forest... Anyhow, I might have said too much!

Enjoy the trailler:

Sort:  

Congratulations @iyt.kawaii! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!