You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Protein an animal based versus plant based food carbon footprint.

in #nutrition6 years ago

Interesting post @engineerdiet
I have been on a plant based diet for 20 years and I'm very passionate about nutrition and sustainability. I can say that a vegan diet works because I've experienced it on many levels of my self and in many ways. However, I believe people should be aware of where the food comes from, especially if that food will enter their body. For sure everyone will have different timing in finding out that by eating a plant based diet we can prevent many diseases and many disasters of this planet.... said that we respect any choice and we share the beauties with others!!!! :)

Sort:  

It is interesting that where nutrition in concerned, what heals one person is what makes an other person sick. I've been hesitant at first due to the common nutritional dogmas, but I find the more I move towards an OMAD mostly animal based whole food diet, the more my health benefits. It's really hard to give up all the starchy and sugary plant based foods that seem to be messing with my metabolism, so I often fail to stick with what I experience makes me less sickly, but the times my health improved most were periods where my diet consisted of one huge meal a day of meat, eggs and, garlic, unions and leafy greens. And what did I find hurts my health the most: sugary fruits, especially bananas and bread. If I want to be sure to get fat and sick, banana sandwiches are the way to go. For me personally, plant based isn't an awnser. I've been close. My hopes for sustainability are mostly with entomophagy, though more research is needed.