Nvidia Fan Control for Mining

in #nvidia8 years ago

TL;DR; https://github.com/vattay/ge-fan/tree/master

I guess I'm a little late to the party. I just started mining, but with an Nvidia graphics card. Seems like AMD has been the preferred system for mining for a while. So support for green side is limited. I found that the fan control was a problem, every time I wanted to start mining, I had to manually open nvidia-settings and drag some sliders or type in some values for the fan speeds and overclocking. Additionally, I had to account for ambient temperature, so I would wind up having to monitor the fan speed on my card through the day, so that they would stay in the sub 80C sweet spot where they don't down clock aggressively.

With some bash and a little python I whipped up something that makes my life easier, I hope this helps someone on team green! It's just a script that automates the whole process of setting the fan curves to support high temperature work like mining. The nvidia stock curves seem to top out at 50% which is not even close to optimal when you are running around 100% load.

The script can be run with just

ge-fan.sh &

to run in the background.

The fan curve is so simple, but it's the best I could do for now. It's in curve.txt, and basically each line number is a degree celsius. Please, modify as you see fit or contribute!