Dream team

in #ocd-resteem6 years ago

This weekend I was full.

After being engaged with an unconventional wedding whole Saturday until Sunday morning, on Sunday afternoon I've been the official photographer of a Romanian 4th division soccer team. About the wedding I'll come back with a complete post but I have over 6000 shots to select and edit so it's gonna take a while.

Meanwhile...a little bit about this masculine sport.

This division is mainly engulfing village soccer teams by the hundreds. The guys playing in those teams are usually passionate about soccer, tried their luck during their youth and now they live their last "soccer star dream" in something that resembles a team.

DSC_6587.jpg

DSC_6576.jpg

This is a group photo of both of the teams. I would ask you to see that the host team is the benefactor of a decent playground, almost a village stadium I'd say. That's because they are using the field of the main team that is owned by the mayorship. This team is only allowed to play here.

The fat dude that is dressed all in purple and bites a lot of the center of the photograph is supposed to be the goalkeeper of the guest team. I don't think I exaggerate when I say that he's got probably 130 kilos and without any kind of doubt he suffered a crucial injury right in the middle of the first half. He was an accident waiting to happen and for me, he was the main attraction up to the point he had to be carried to the hospital.

DSC_6659.jpg

The real deal was happening on the seats, between the supporters. There's this sweet tongue of common people (not to be rude and say lowest "drunkards of the village") the shares all sorts of words and expressions. I guess there's a curse/15 second towards each and every player on the field. It may be that I've heard the biggest amount of dicks in a given time in my life.

This time the supporters of the guest team were the ones dominating the game of yells and presence. The 15 of them were, this time, more organized than the team hosting the game. They came by rented bus (or owned by one of them) and they even had a banner. Gold!

DSC_6528.jpg

Even I that have no idea about soccer felt that the game was a mistake. It shouldn't have happened I suppose as none of the guys on the field put any more heart into the game after minute 30. I guess the batteries ran out and 90 minutes is only for the big boys hehe :)

DSC_6665.jpg

The game became a slum of intercepted passes, cocky fights (sometimes without the ball) and big pauses while different penalties were taken ALL in the middle of the field. The boredom was unbearable.

The most entertaining part of the match was the fatso breaking his leg, I swear!

DSC_6472.jpg

Don't get fooled by that scoreboard. They were too damn lazy to change it since the last game. This game ended 0-1 but nobody gave one single fuck about "the official scoreboard".

You know those press declarations the players give after the game?
"All in all it was a good game, we gave like 130% but in the end it seems that they were more cunning than us and managed to score. This will only get us even more focused for the next games!"

Bullshit. The game was a disaster.

CameraLens
Nikon D 750Sigma 70-200mm f/2,8
Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

I also played in Division 4 when I was small.
Congratulations for the article.

A footballer's hi to all the players!