Sort:  

It's not as simple as some people think and the current system mostly works. Those who have an issue with it tend to make a lot of noise. The fact that we can give less DVs than upvotes each day limits the damage.

You can actually give 10 more Dv's a day than upvotes, so this is an incorrect statement.

You can give ten full upvotes per day and recover your voting power over 24 hours. You can only give about two downvotes in the same time. I think that is what this means. There is an account that downvotes me all the time, but their DV mana is down at 1%, so there is no real damage.

The vote weights work identically either way, but you get 10 free dv's before it starts to use your default RCs, so this is incorrect.

DVs use up mana 4x quicker than upvotes according to that FAQ. Please let us know where you get your information.

I didn't know that about the DV mana pool, but I perceive the definition in the FAQ for DVs to only apply to the separate DV mana pool, so I was off on 10 extra DVs as it's +2.5 DVs over UVs. Once your reserve Dv mana is used up, Dvs and UVs on your shared Voting mana pool are equal, so you still potentially get more DVs than UVs.

I think the wording could be improved to make it clearer as I may be misunderstanding it.

Anyway, most people never downvote, so there should be far more upvoting going on across Hive. I remember the days of 'Bernie' where he would threaten people. I see less of that going on now.

I didn't know that about the DV mana pool, but I perceive the definition in the FAQ for DVs to only apply to the separate DV mana pool, so I was off on 10 extra DVs as it's +2.5 DVs over UVs. Once your reserve Dv mana is used up, Dvs and UVs on your shared Voting mana pool are equal, so you still potentially get more DVs than UVs.