A coyote came to visit...

in #ocd4 months ago

Hi everyone!

Happy New Year!

IMG_7861.png

I really wanted to share this photo of a visiting coyote that I took... while sitting at the very desk I'm at now. This furry friend has come to visit a couple of times, specifically to eat out of that hole it's standing over.

I had a look in the hole myself, and I honestly can't tell what is/was in there, but I've see the coyote eat from it a couple of times now, I'm guessing maybe a mole or ground squirrel was in there.

Each time I chased the coyote away (after I took photos of course) just because I was worried about the sheep.... but I'm not sure how worried I should be... each one of our sheep seems to be at least 4 times the weight of the coyote. As you can see, I feed them well... (this photo was also taken from my desk):

IMG_7832.png

In the 8 years in the US, I've only seen coyotes twice before... and both times they were running near a road while I was driving, so I never got a good look.

I've heard coyotes tons of times though, usually at night doing a weird yipping noise along with their howls, and sometimes dogs barking and I'm sure that's all a vocal territory battle. I put the sheep to bed every night in a horse stable so they are totally safe from coyotes and the weather.

Speaking of.... this time last year I was without power and water for almost a month.

The pipes that come out of the ground from our well had all frozen, which is no big deal, but then all burst when they thawed - I had something like 20 different gushing leaks, so I turned the water off and got it repaired, and then a day later, storms came through and pushed one of my trees onto the powerlines - taking out my power and a few of my neighbours as well.

The power had already been out, so even though I work remotely, I had gone into the office, which was super lucky because the tree had come down across my driveway so I would have been stuck a while (nothing is walkable near me). The power company eventually sent another company to clear my driveway, but then they didn't repair the power lines for another couple of weeks because only 3 houses were affected, and they had to literally replace two whole powerlines.

This winter has been way more mild, no freezes, no crazy winds and no snow so far... thanks El Nino.

Anyway, I hope everyone is well, happy New Year!



Posted from my blog with gFam : https://gfam.live/posts/65934c5da69cd40c2c32cb7d

Sort:  

No matter how bigger the sheep may be, they are still sheep. An innocent animal. On the other hand, coyotes are wild. So your worries make sense.

Sorry to hear that you hsd to live without power and water for such a long time. It's stressful. Time passes and so it did. Hehe.

Happy New year


Want to Know more about Hivepakistan?

Ping Us On Hive Pakistan Discord server

To support HivePakistan, delegate Hive Power to hivepakistan and earn 90% curation reward :)

Here are some handy links for delegation


| 50 HP | 100 HP |500 HP | 1000 HP | 5000 HP | 10000 HP | 20000 HP |

A delegation of 500 or more HP makes you earn Hivepakistan supporter badge.

Thanks Amber! It was stressful, but also taught me a bit about myself and what I can handle... and sometimes I just went to bed at sundown... so it ended up being both stressful AND restful, haha.

so it ended up being both stressful AND restful

The fact is that losses and gains go hand in hand

I’ve never heard about a Coyote in my entire life and I don’t think they exist here
Are they harmful or not?

They are... I don't think they're so dangerous to humans (although I could be wrong) but they are quite dangerous to cats, small dogs, lambs, small goats, chickens, etc etc. They often do hunt in packs.

Yay for a less malfunctioning season XD

Have you had a good silly season?

Hahaha, yeah! I'm sure Australia isn't loving El Nino, but it's working out for me so far.

I did... it was very quiet, but I honestly needed that... work has been intense for months.
How about you? Did you and the kids and everyone have a great time?

I donno I don't mind but I don't mind much.

Sounds like some downtime was definitely needed!

Yeh we had a pretty good time, finally able to get home after missing a year (we usually alternate silly seasons between families).

Awww, I'm so glad to hear that.

Happy New Year to you as well, seems the farm keeps you busy. The coyote looks dangerous very much like a dingo? How big is that above ground pool behind the sheep? It looks massive are there any Obstacles set up above it
!LOL
!ALIVE
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 3

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


@aussieninja! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ new.things. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

To err is human.
To arrrgh is pirate.

Credit: reddit
@aussieninja, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of new.things

(4/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

Happy New Year Brad! Hope you had a fun couple of weeks.

Yeah, I think coyotes are maybe a little smaller than a dingo, but similarly wiry. This coyote was about the size of a border collie maybe. It's body would probably come up to your knee maybe.

Hahaha, noooo. I've always wanted to put a flying fox from the driveway into the pool, but I'm 90% positive I would break many bones at some point. The above ground pool isn't big at all, I think that's just a trick of the zoom lens. I think it's 50,000 liters... you basically do 3 or 4 strokes and you've already hit the other end.

Unaware picture is always the best
You took stunning photographs

Coyote is a new word for me and I will learn to research more about this. Thank you for sharing also

Happy new year. The new year has come and we all pray that this year will be good for all of us and seeing animals like this makes me very happy.

Sharing on Twitter.