Foundation

in #ocd2 years ago

Sometimes when you practice a skill so well people start to call it a talent, and every
conversation about that skill mostly ends and starts with "OMG! you are so lucky you are
talented. As an artist is one of the basic skill necessary to learn in other to convey our
ideas is drawing. Drawing is innocent drawing is honest or has Salvador dali said drawing is honesty of the art, there is no possibility of cheating. There's something spiritual about it to me it is one of the most
beautiful thing in the world, when I draw I loose my sense of time, its as if the world stops and my mind
drifts away to another galaxy nothing else matters at that moment except the long/short imperfectly
perfect strokes. with the sounds of lead and graphites marriage with the paper.
I can relate to what G.K Chesterton said about drawing even though i don't actually know who he is
or what he does, he said "lying in bed would be altogether perfect and
supreme experience if only one had coloured pencil long enough to draw on the ceiling".
Drawing helps me see instead of looking, when ever I draw I feel in tune with my surroundings it
helps me study it. over the time i have come to Ralph waldo Emerson once said a painter told me that nobody
could draw a tree without in some sort becoming a tree; or draw a child by studying the outlines of its form
merely ....but by watching for a time his motions and plays, the painter enters into his nature and
can then draw him at every altitude. Often times most aspiring artist wants to jump the step of drawing
directly into painting which is doable but in my experience complicates things it makes painting process
harder than it is suppose to be, either painting from reference or imagination.
in a way painting is like building a house its much more reasonable to start with the building foundation
and structures before proceeding to building and finishes of a house. But what can i say every artist
have their own creative process may be mine is I guess old-fashioned.
img_20220115_wa0003.jpg

For me I didn't start painting right away, I have always tried to avoid it until i couldn't. all I wanted
was to master how to copy a reference picture realistically as oppose now, the only thing i am interested
in is mastering the psychology of colour, harmony and how to evoke emotions with it. like Vincent Van Gogh
i want to touch people with my art, I want them to say "he feels deeply" .... instead
of trying to reproduce what is see before me, I make more arbitrary use of colour to express myself more forcefully.
colour expresses something by it self.
very once in a while I become obsessed with old masters (painters and sculptors), such as Michelangelo, Rembrandt
, Leonardo da Vinci and so on. Reading their diaries, biographies, sketches, including documentaries and articles I
find about them being the art nerd that I am. Due to my current state of despair I found myself drawn towards
Vincent Van Gogh and his paintings. He interests me and I found him relatable.
img_20220115_wa0007.jpg

I love the way he writes and paints
, especially how he plays around with colours to create optical vibrations. I also adore the brotherhood love story
between him and his brother Theo with the heroic act of Theo's wife after the death of Vincent and his brother. when
ever I look at his paintings it is almost as if there is an animated movement of colours on the canvas. Because I
love storytelling paintings are mostly still I am always looking for a way to introduce a little bit of motion to my
art, and I could find how he did it while listening to a lecture about him by museum of fine art. the colour theory
he used states that when the primary colours, red, yellow and blue are placed along side or near the secondary
colours, the oranges, the greens it produces a kind of optical vibration and reinforcement. But because I draw in
black and white, often it means I had to find a way to introduce a little bit of motion to my drawing.
Being inspired
by one of van Gogh's drawing he did 1885 ( Hand with bowl and a cat), all I did was to go back to the basics of shading
technique which is cross hatching amongst the major once such as circulism, pointillism and hatching. with it was able to embody the
subject of my drawings and introduce a little bit of motion. like I said earlier learning the basics do come with
it's perks and same with developing a building the structure can only be as strong as the foundation.

Sort:  

Congratulations @boko19! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

@boko19 i like this post and your talent. Congratulations

Thanks alot