You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The horrendous failure of curating Quality Content

in #ocd11 months ago

For what it is worth, and just my simple observations. It seems this is a place of mostly content creators that also consume. Some maybe don't consume so much. Seems most is mostly auto voting and such. What we need is the pure content consumer. Now would the typical content consumer be interested in anything I write? Doubt it, but I am here for reasons other than just rewards and not selling or marketing anything, so...

Anyway, your idea has merit I beleive. But these frontends need to start making it much easier to share posts on other social media outlets and via other venues as well. For instance, on PeakD you have to scroll all the way to the bottom, click on three dots next to a reblog symbol to find the "share link" option. If you look at most content on Web2, social icons are front and center to share the content.

Sort:  

We do have some content consumers, but they don't comment - which is my arbitrary metric for measuring active content consumers - and I'm guilty of this as well. I read around 100 posts on hive on a daily basis, and I comment in less than 2. I suck, I should comment more but that's a story for another fireplace hehe.

I agree, not everyone has to create amazing content that brings the masses, if we are being honest we don't even have the talent pool to put 100 stupid good posts on trending every day, but we do have a few. Those posts should trend through the guilds' curation.

But then, all the other voting power could be used to encourage users to attract traffic to hive.

So we'd effectively have a community effort where some people create good content and get good rewards, and then the not-so-good content creators who wouldn't earn rewards from votes, would earn rewards through attracting and onboarding users.

And this community effort would work ten times better than what we have right now, don't you think?

Yeah it could probably work. I am all about whatever will help get consumer eyeballs on posts.