You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ask this simple question

in #ocd4 years ago

Hey! That is why I think it is useful to ask the person about them, see if they took notes. I think the conversation will reveal if the library matches the character. For example I take notes on all of my books, it is impossible to find one which does not have my pen marks in it. Wouldn't you agree that if somebody hoards books just to make a good impression, without reading/understanding them, would be easily recognised after some casual conversation? A shallow overconfident actor will always be exposed when asked pertinent questions.

A profound understanding of the book is necessary. That is why it happens to return to a book 3 or more times. A good book is always a new discovery every time you read it. Because in the meanwhile you have changed and you re-read it with new eyes.

I will check it out for sure! Thank you for reading me!

Sort:  

Yeah I understand what you mean that a person's approach to bettering themselves is important and would be fairly transparent after knowing them for a while.

It's interesting to go back to a book you think you know because there's definitely things that you miss the first times you read it.

Oh yes! It happened to me. We mature and sometimes our mind is not ready for the book at the exact time. That is why I value physical books, I can always return to it and read it again and again