Beautiful Views From The Air - Part One

in #ocd3 years ago

44236185072_3ca4ce680e_k.jpg

I love aerial photography and I am in the process of saving to buy a new drone, as it is, I sold my Phantom 4 to help me buy my first full frame camera.
One thing I see with aerial photography, is people going too high with the drone, so all the pictures tend to look the same, I learned that when I was photographing objects, it was best to stay at a lower altitude, so I thought I'd share some of my favourite drone shots.
Some of the pictures was shot with a Phantom 4 and some with a Phantom 3 Standard.

The first shot is of Hoober Stand, a local monument to myself, this was shot on a Phantom 4, as a 3 shot HDR image, I do like the colours on this one, but what I like the most, is that you can see through the small window at the top of the monument.

44236190542_8dbcd44390_k_1_.jpg

A wider shot of Hoober stand, the light was beautiful as it was just before a storm, I love the shadows on this shot too.

43568157664_b031f07800_k_1_.jpg
With this shot I wanted to emphasise scale, towards the centre of the shot is a monument called "Needles Eye", this was the old road out of Wentworth and you can still follow where the road ran on this picture. What makes it for me is the beautiful light and the stom closing in. Certainly one of my favourite shots.

25644883632_e26759a4c1_k.jpg

25135438064_847e61a794_k.jpg

The two shots above was taken using my old Phantom 3 Standard, although the picture quality isn't as good as I'd liked (wasn't impressed with the camera), I do like these images, it was shot on one of those warm sunny winter mornings. The first shot of the two was also used on the front page of a news paper.

49443660018_f7f905bd84_k.jpg
I love the ground when it's covered in fog, I like to call this shot Icarus, I find something mesmorising with a blanket of fog on the ground, viewing it from above. This shot it looking towards the village of Greasbrough, again, I love the colours on this one, and the shadows cast on to the fog.

I also took my drone to the seaside, I did have a shot planned, but I got swooped upon by a seagull, so only took about 3 or 4 shots, not only that, it was quite windy, so decided to land after about 10 mins, if that.

31081073428_dd14e5fae0_k_1_.jpg

44953917381_0787e9edf9_k_1_.jpg

30016915807_9df529becd_k_1_.jpg

44291070454_2cb5f8bc4c_k.jpg

As you can see it's my favourite place, Whitby.

I am hoping to have a new drone by the end of the year, I really do miss getting those shots, I am thinking of getting a DJI Air 2S, as this has the 1 inch sensor, so I think I should be happy with the camera, although, the Phantom 4 camera was much better than the Phantom 3, I still wanted a better camera on it.

Thanks for checking out my post, please click here to follow me on Instagram.

If you would like to see these shots in full resolution, please feel free to check out my Flickr page.

Sort:  

Absolutely gorgeous shots!

Thank you ever so much :-)

Hi @darrenflinders,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

wow! I never realised Whitby pier is so stunning!

Wow, really stunning photos @darrenflinders!
Great job!

Stunning pictures 😀

Thanks ever so much :-)

Congratulations @darrenflinders! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 90 posts.
Your next target is to reach 100 posts.
You got more than 500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

False-Positive phishing alert reported by antivirus software
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Beautiful photography 😍😍