Perfect day, but not so perfect light.

in #ocd3 years ago

img_0860.jpg
Yesterday was an early start, I was out by 6.30am, as had to be in Penzance and checked on to the Scillonian iii by 8am.
It was still dark when I headed out, with fog banks all over the place, I only wished that I had more time and a drone as it would have made for some epic photography.

img_0872.jpg

I found a car park in Penzance, then headed over to the harbour, which was a lot farther than it actually looked. There was still patches of mist and fog around but left for a epic sunrise, I didn’t take my sigma 150-600 lens, but wish I had, although couldn’t hang around as I was heading to check in.

Once on the Scillonian iiii, we decided to sit outside for part of the journey, although he seats were wet through, so we had wet arses for part of the journey.

img_0874.jpg

It was great to see the lighthouse at lands end, you don’t realise just how jagged hose rocks are when looking at the, from land.

img_0875.jpg
Another highlight of the trip was seeing the odd dolphin at the side of the boat, that was brilliant.

After 2 hours 45 minutes, we’d arrived at Hugh Town, St. Mary’s.

A short walk down the pier and you were in the town, there’s a lovely cafe/restaurant as you walk in to the town, I had a latte and a piece of apple cake (yes cake, not pie), it was gorgeous. My dad had a cheese and onion pasty, I did have a taste of that and that was gorgeous too, including the coffee.

img_0862.jpg

We walked over to Porthcressa beach, one thing I loved about the islands was just how quiet it is, there’s hardly any background noise and just talking feels like you are shouting, I really could just live there just for the peace.

However, he trip wasn’t perfect, nothing to do with he islands, it he light was shocking when I got there, a blanket of cloud over the islands giving horrible dull flat light.

img_0864.jpg

img_0858.jpg

img_0861.jpg

img_0897.jpg

img_0896.jpg

img_0893.jpg

As we started to head back to the boat, he cloud broke, sadly too late, managed to get a coup,e of quick shots before boarding.

Downsides of the trip is that you only get about 3 hours on the island, one thing I did notice was that you can hire buggies to get around the island.
The next time I visit, I think I will fly there and hire one of those buggies to do some proper exploring, I didn’t venture far as my dad is disabled and can’t walk too far, so the buggies are the plan for the next visit, so at least we can drive places.

Thanks for checking out my blog.

Sort:  

The last photo is my favorite! Enjoy the rest of your vacation!

Hi @darrenflinders,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

So many beautiful photo here. Thank you for your participation

I love your pictures, they're really beautiful, nice post I enjoyed reading it