The Big House (again!)

in #ocd3 years ago

img_5291.jpg

Today in the UK has been hot, I've got a bit of timbre on myself and I'm certainly not designed for this hot weather.
But me and my GF wanted to make the most of my day off work, so we went up to Wentworth Woodhouse, we got there early and the car park was filling up quickly.
There was a sense of normality in the air, but certainly plenty of reminders regarding Covid-19.
img_5285.jpg
I'm glad to say the the Cafe in the house is now open, but was gutted when they didn't have their chocolate orange cake, that is absolutely gorgeous, however they are working to a reduced menu due to covid.
The coffee there however is lovely.

img_5294.jpg

After our coffee, we decided to go around the gardens, this is now national trust, so it's half price if you are a member. It was great to see all the flowers in bloom from the last time I went, which was like a winters day lol.

img_5298.jpg

Not sure what kind of butterfly this is off hand, but it was lovely seeing it flying around, there was an abundance of wildlife around today, from Stags, to pheasants, to butterflys and all sorts in between.
I sadly didn't have my camera, so had to shoot on the very disappointing camera of the iPhone XR, my previous phonoe, the iPhone 7 plus has a so much better quality camera than the XR. But hey ho, I can't complain as I got the phone given.
img_5296.jpg

Lovely view looking back over the Wentworth Estate.

I really hope that you have enjoyed this post of the big house (one of the largest houses in Europe).
I'm so happy as to now it is open to the public, and we can go inside an enjoy it's splendour.
If you are in the Rotherham area, it is certainly worth a visit.

Thanks for reading my post, if you'd like to follow me on instagram, please click here.

I also use Flickr, please click here to follow me.

Sort:  

Hi @darrenflinders,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I enjoyed reading your blog. I always love to see your place architectural design because it is different from my place.

Congratulations @darrenflinders! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 comments.
Your next target is to reach 500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

My dayoff right now is just sleeping. Lol

What a great architectural design of a house, who's living in such huge house like that? 😊

Hi, no one lives there now, but years ago one of the uk prime ministers lived there, the place has some history. Parts are now open to the public, great place to visit.

You seem to be using older or Legacy version of Ecency!
Please install newest version to get most out of Ecency!

Try Fastest web interface: https://ecency.com
Android: https://android.ecency.com
APK file
iOS: https://ios.ecency.com
Desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency