Samples from a Map-Artist P1

in #ocd2 years ago

3D  mockup of "New Port" a fictional map-art project.

"New Port" 3D Mockup 2

"New Port" 3D Mockup 3

"New Port" 3D Mockup 4

Map-Art Backstory

Back in the late 90's I got exposed to a video game called SimCity 2000 and I was immediately drawn to the idea or creating something from nothing. From bare ground a mighty city sprung forth. This idea was even more so enticing to me as I grew up in a rural setting.

The video game SimCity was at a friends place, so I was eager to play the game whenever I there. Unfortunately he went away to another school and the game went with him. My parents at the time could not afford a computer so I had to come up with another way to build these cities.

I took my city building ambitions to paper and pens. It first started out with simple buildings but it quickly evolved to roads, trees and water features. Over the past 22+ years these maps evolved from paper to eventually computer generated designs. The above pictures is my peak map-art.

Summary of all the map-art styles over the years.

Maps can be as simple as paper and pencil.

To as complicated as full 3D mockups.

3D mockup of "New Port" downtown.

I love to take real life locations and re-imagine what could be.

These maps can often take up large spaces.

Everything down to the placement of trees and streets are laid out in advance.

Another real life location turned into something different.

Small animation of "New Port" design.

Overview of "New Port."

More 3D design work.

Large map called "MP-13." This city doesn't have a name yet.

Another real life location (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) turned into a map.

Turning "New Port" into 3D was a daunting task, it was never completed.

Size comparison between "New Port" and Manhattan New York

As of right now I've put this creative side on the back burner until more time comes around. However, I will never forget that this is where my creative heart will always remain at.

Maybe it's time to pick up my pen and paper and get map-drawing again?

Darcy Cardinal