Some Quotes that Guide Me

in #ocd4 years ago

dialogue-window-148172_640.png

I used to be a fan of motivational speeches and pep talks as a teenager, red all the books on how to 'harness my energy' in building a great future for myself, thus living the perfect life.

Then reality struck, and accumulations of disappointments made me conclude that this whole motivation thingy was a load of bull. So I stopped reading, watching and listening to motivational speeches (except in church where I don't have a choice) and somewhat started to dislike people who made a career out of it.

That being said, there have been some quotes that have stuck with me through the years though. Some I have consciously or unconsciously applied to become principle. I'll list the first three I can think of before

The Gestalt Prayer

Well the Gestalt prayer is a little longer than your average quote. That said, I try to remember it whenever am feeling emotionally weighed on awry relationships (this may not be obvious, but I've had quite a few).

it says:

I do my thing
you do yours
I am not in this World to live up to your expectations
Neither are you to live up to mine
But if we find each other it's beautiful
If not it can't be helped<

Reminds me that nobody owns my happiness.

Second one is a bit funny, where I came across it is even funnier .

"Aim low and avoid disappointment"

This one I heard when I was a teenager from popular Disney show 'Hannah Montana' staring teenage Miley Cyrus. The statement was made by Miley's onscreen brother played by Jason Earles.

I must say that this one has grown quite a bit on me, as my expectations these days are a lot less optimistic - whether that's good or bad remains to be decided.

Last but not least I read from one of Housing Minister Dr Ben Carson's books. He stated that it is a famous Methodist quote.

"Do all good you can, however you can, for as long as you can"

This is probably the one I find most difficult to live by. I try to be good, but ultimately I've been making more self centered decisions of late.

I really hate long articles, so this is all for now. Perhaps I would write an article on another three if you guys are interested.

Sort:  

Aiming low is a fair strategy especially if by failing to reach a goal of too high standard would crush you. It's better to keep going small steps at a time than injure yourself with a too big of a jump.

Agreed. Especially for those of us (me) who don't handle disappointment all too well

Sometimes you've got to be a bit self centered. It's had to do good for others if you don't look after yourself too. I'd love another three if you get around to it.

Thank you very much. I was afraid I wasn't going to get any feedback