From Garden to Table #1

in #ocd4 years ago

These past few days, I have been contemplating to make a worthwhile post that could benefit my Hivean family. Fast forward, I came up with this idea. Today, I wish to start a series that I will call "From Garden to Table." This is to encourage everyone, especially Filipinos, to plant their own garden in this time of pandemic and see the benefits of having a backyard garden.

The Philippine government have been calling out Filipinos to plant in their respective yards, knowing that the fight against this pandemic might still go on for a while. Many have acceded to the authorities. I have seen friends who kept themselves busy from acquiring loam soil, seeds to plant, and the actual gardening itself. Being a gardener at heart, I am happy seeing them develop a love for planting.

Since we have been gardening for more than two years and is already reaping the fruits of our labor, I'd like to share with everyone what are some things that we do with our produce.

Hence, I'd like to present:

From Garden to Table

l33b00.jpg

Today, I'd like to share a favorite Filipino snack--SWEET POTATO FINGERS.

SWEET POTATO FINGERS

3ow3z9.jpg

lslm77.jpg

I harvested sweet potatoes a couple of days ago. I was excited because this is the first time I have uprooted quite a lot!

I want my son to eat "real food." Sometimes media advertisement pose a threat, because he is eager to try food from the fast food restaurants advertised on television. 😢 But, if he is satisfied with what he is eating at home, I noticed that he is not craving for those junk. One of the snacks he wants me to prepare is SWEET POTATO FINGERS.

Here is how to make it.

INGREDIENTS:

1 big sweet potato
2-3 tbsp brown sugar
1/4 cup oil

PROCEDURE:

  • Wash and peel the sweet potato.
  • Cut it in sizes like fingers.

y3zz0v.jpg

  • Heat a pan with oil. Put the chopped sweet potato in the pan.
  • Add the sugar.
  • Stir until the sweet potatoes are covered with sugar.
  • Fry until golden brown.
  • Remove from the pan. Let it cool and serve.

jqg8qi.jpg

It's a very simple snack but is very healthy.

xg78qq.jpg

You see? He is busy munching the sweet potato fingers while watching his favorite cartoons on the phone. Try it and you'll love it!

Health Benefits:

Sweet potatoes are known to be a good source of fiber, vitamins and minerals. Aside from that, sweet potatoes are rich in antioxidants that protects the body from free radical damage and chronic disease. The fiber and antioxidants in sweet potatoes promote the growth of good gut bacteria and contribute to a healthy gut. Sweet potatoes are also an incredible source of beta-carotene. In fact, 200grams of baked orange potato with skin provides more than 7x the amount of beta-carotene that an average adult needs per day!
Source

text16.png

I am a proud supporter of:

@curangel, @steemitbloggers, @esteem, @qurator.

text16.png

Posted with eSteem

PHC-Footer-05.gif


created by @derangedvisions

Sort:  

Thanks for mentioning Esteem app. Kindly join our Discord or Telegram channels to learn more about Esteem, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @esteemapp as well!

That looks so delicious. I love french fries!

Maybe it can be called a sweet potato sweet fries! Hahaha! 😂 French fries are salty, but this is sugar coated sweet potato. Do you grow sweet potatoes in your country?

Ha ha ha.. yeah sweet potato fries!
Yeah sweet potatoes are very common here and I was thinking to make something like this for my son today!
Have a nice day 😊

That's great! Home cooked food are better for the kids! ❤

Nice :)

Thank you! 😉 And thank you for dropping by! 😊

Looks delicious 😋.

Thank you. It's very easy to make. You can make something like this, perhaps adding some chillies? Hahaha! 😂

Thank you for dropping by and leaving such kind comment my dear. ❤

Oh you are so lucky to grow sweet potatoes!
How long you grow them until harvest?

3months is a good time to harvest them. Why? Don't you grow sweet potatoes in your garden? I think you could easily grow them. You eat them a lot, right?!? Hehehe! 😂

Growing and then preparing your own food is the best thing you can do if you have the place to do so.
I love sweet potatoes!

Really?!? Do you grow sweet potatoes in your place?

Yes, we are blessed to be permitted to use the vacant lot as a vegetable garden. And now that it is pandemic, I appreciate it more! 😍

Thank you for visiting. I truly appreciate it. ❤

No, I only have a balcony, so can't grow much (mostly flowering plants). But I think people do grow them here in the soil. They are so yummy!

But my mum has a big garden in Poland and I was raised in the countryside. Most fruits and veggies we had our own. They are so much better than the shop ones!
And growing them is so rewarding!

Oh I see. Yes, sweet potatoes needs a bigger space to grow.

Yes, they are yummy and lots of nutrients! Even if it is sweet, it has a low GI than the normal potato, which is not sweet! Interesting! Hahaha! 😂

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Awwwwww... Thank you @ewkaw and @Qurator Team for curating this post! 😍

My pleasure :)

So many more people here are gardening for the first time as well. It's wonderful to see. I love sweet potatoes, but we haven't tried growing any ourselves yet. We'll have to try soon!

Oh! You can grow sweet potatoes there? Wow! 😉 It needs space as it crawls on the ground! The sweet potato tops are also an excellent source of iron! 😉 So, if your plant, even before you could harvest the roots, you can already enjoy the leaves! 😍

Yes! We have a few of our local farmers who grow them, so I know they can do well here. Nice to know about the leaves, as well. I'll be looking soon to see when the best time is here to plant them. :)

Ohhhh! That's good! 😍 We grow it here all year round, and harvest every three months. But of course it's different in your place because of four seasons. 😬 Maybe you can ask the ones that grow them. Hehehe! 😉