God is our refuge

in #ocd4 years ago

Image 1

I will share this reflection that I learned on the way to my work. Every day as I walked to work I saw that mangy dog in the yard of a nearby house. His coat was dirty and full of knots. I felt sorry for him.

He was chained to a stake, so he could run in a big circle. But the grass was gone and there was only dirt. On rainy days, the yard became a huge muddy patch on which he sat, so the mud got down to his haunches. If the day was hot, the dog was no better off, as he had no shelter from the heat.

As winter approached, he hoped that his owners would buy him a little house. But they did not. I decided that I would buy it for them. The following Sunday I found one in a second-hand market. It was lovely, it looked like an igloo. And I took it home.

The next day I went to the house where the dog was and told the owner that I had bought a little house for the animal thinking it would be useful. The man gladly accepted it and placed it in the yard.

Every morning, as I passed by, I kept hoping to see the dog resting inside the little house. But it lay in the dust and when winter came it lay in the mud. A year passed since I bought the little house that offered shelter and relief, but the dog paid no attention. I was very sad to see that.

I think I can imagine, if only a little, how God feels when he sees us living here on earth. He offers himself as a refuge and comfort. But many times we don't want his protection. We prefer excitement and fun. We live for ourselves, when living for God would bring us much more happiness and satisfaction.

Too often, people go through life ignoring God. They see him as the last resort. I'm sure God is happy when they finally get to know him. But it would have been much better if they had found him when they were young. They could have enjoyed the advantages of knowing him, instead of living in the mud.

You, Lord, are my protector, my place of refuge, my deliverer, my God, the rock that protects me. 2 Samuel 22:2-3

Sort:  

!hw ban
The account belongs to a well-known scammer.

They are already banned.

!hw ban
The account belongs to a well-known scammer.

Source

Plagiarism is the copying & pasting of others' work without giving credit to the original author or artist. Plagiarized posts are considered fraud and violate the intellectual property rights of the original creator.

Fraud is discouraged by the community and may result in the account being Blacklisted.

If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.