When I almost got eaten by a giant spider just a few meters from my home!

in #ocd4 years ago (edited)

Well, the title may be a bit extreme, but..

  • I was very close to the spider (I only use a smartphone for macro shots so I have to almost touch the subject)
  • This spider is poisonous
  • It managed to exterminate a bee triple its size, so what would stop it from killing me?
  • I am afraid of spiders...

(Yet, I shoot them whenever I can :))


So, the story goes like this..

I was out searching for new photo-themes and I got near to a beautiful place where I would see beautiful wild plants. I usually get very close to the weed in order to search for small details to photograph.

Suddenly I saw this bee and I was trying to understand why it would stay still, while all other bees would go around gathering pollen?

And then I saw it...

A spider looking at me. Viciously!

IMG_4630.jpeg

If I had not read about them a few days ago, I would be even more terrified
(Thank you @stemsocial - @steemstem for all the things I have learned while researching for blog posts!)

As I had learned this specific species, feed on invertebrate (so thankfully not on humans).
The crab spider (officially Thomisus Onustus) bites them with its fangs and the poor insects die as a result of its venom. However the venom cannot help against larger animals. The spiders feeds on flies, grasshoppers, bees etc. They have the unique ability to change their color as per the flower they are located on.


And suddenly ... hazard at 12 o clock!

What surprised me even more is that as I was taking photos of the spider trying to get closer for a more clear shot, it suddenly lifted and opened up its legs as if it would threaten me... That was not a behaviour I had encountered with previous crab spiders (I have seen 5-6 different ones this year)

Check out this photo and please tell me that it does not scare you...

IMG_4634.jpeg

Learn more about crab spiders here


My personal discoveries and every day experiences: https://www.instagram.com/katycrete/
My city's account and lovely community: https://www.instagram.com/aboutheraklion/

And let's not forget my giphy channels

For my city: https://giphy.com/channel/aboutheraklion
My personal account: https://giphy.com/channel/katyramm

Thank you for visiting!

Original Content and images - All rights reserved

Sort:  

Thanks to @katerinaramm for burning 800 PLANET! You have been rewarded with a 80% vote. Your action makes this project grow and helps to restore a Clean Planet! Join us on our Discord Channel and on our website

Great photos!
But I'm really sorry for the bee ....