The Trooper (Iron Maiden)

in #ocd3 years ago (edited)


As mentioned in my previous post about Black Sabbath, I love covering a famous tune from time to time and try to make it my own. There are certain songs that also work just on an acoustic guitar, and that is always an indicator for a great song (see The Beatles). One of those songs is clearly The Trooper by Iron Maiden. The song is also a good example that it only takes three chords to write an amazing song (solo section excluded). As a huge Iron Maiden fan, I quoted two other Iron Maiden hits in my e-guitar solo - any die-hard Maiden fans here who can guess the tunes? My wife @patschwork also gave a great look behind the scenes of the video shoot, which you can find here.

The Trooper

You'll take my life, but I'll take yours too
You'll fire your musket, but I'll run you through
So when you're waiting for the next attack
You'd better stand, there's no turning back

The bugle sounds, the charge begins
But on this battlefield, no one wins
The smell of acrid smoke and horses' breath
As I plunge on into certain death

The horse, he sweats with fear, we break to run
The mighty roar of the Russian guns
And as we race towards the human wall
The screams of pain as my comrades fall

We hurdle bodies that lay on the ground
And the Russians fire another round
We get so near, yet so far away
We won't live to fight another day

We get so close, near enough to fight
When a Russian gets me in his sights
He pulls the trigger and I feel the blow
A burst of rounds take my horse below

And as I lay there gazing at the sky
My body's numb and my throat is dry
And as I lay forgotten and alone
Without a tear, I draw my parting groan

image.pnghttps://michaeldietrich.bandcamp.com/

Sort:  

Awesome performance, dude! I love Maiden. I was not fan of The Trooper, though, up until now.

The Evil That Men Do and Fear Of The Dark I heard there...

Thanks a lot man! And totally correct on the quotes! What are your Maiden faves?

Top faves only? Let's see...

The two that I mentioned above for sure;
Two Minutes To Midnight;
Revelations;
The Flight Of Icarus;
Wasted Years;
Afraid To Shoot Strangers;
Hallowed Be Thy Name;
The Number Of The Beast;
Bring Your Daughter;
The Ghost Of The Navigator;
Blood Brothers;
Brave New World;
Journeyman;
Face In The Sand;
The Clairvoyant;
When The Wild Wind Blows;
Empire Of The Clouds;
Out Of The Shadows;
The Longest Day;
The Reincarnation Of Benjamin Breeg...

Great selection! I would add Aces High, To Tame a Land, Infinite Dreams, Sign of the Cross and Children of the Damned...

Can't deny those ;)

Amazing! I somehow missed the whole maiden thing, so I don't know the song, but whatever it was before I loved what you did with it. Great production too.

Thanks a lot! If you find the time, check out some of the songs above. They sure know how to write killer tunes.

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Great, thanks!

Congratulations @michaeldietrich! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Tour Update - Financial stages

Awesome, thanks!

You're welcome @michaeldietrich 😊
Support us back and vote for our witness.
You will get one more badge and bigger upvotes from us when we notify you.