You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Making This Number One Mistake In Your Writing

in #ocd4 years ago

I'm always thankful for your writing tips and reflect on the way I write after reading one of your articles.

The Korean language is full of adverbs and this can make a long and boring self introduction. Also the verb comes at the end of the sentence so translated to English it goes something like this:

The second child of lovely parents, raised in countryside, joyfully conquering over all challenges, enthusiastically blog writing, decisively studying English, JongPil I am.

I listen to this all day waiting for a verb. I literally don't know who is doing what because the subject is often implied and when they do get to the verb I am distracted and miss it. On the other hand there are so many tastes and and feelings I can describe in Korean in one word that would take a whole sentence in English.

I think it is sometimes laziness or we are too busy. But also adverbs can cover up something maybe because it is a lie or maybe because we don't want to show the whole picture.