You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🧠 [Know Your Brain...] How To Influence Your Own Behavior...

in #ocd3 years ago

These are concepts we probably know if we're entirely honest with ourselves, but need reminders to apply them. The cleaning the house one was a familiar one. So often I put things off and do another job instead, until I know someone will be visiting and it can no longer be put off.

@tipu curate

Sort:  

Right? It's so easy to fall into the "instant gratification" trap. But it rarely serves us in the end.

Personally, my efforts to provide myself with the right "context" from which to make decisions is a struggle in some areas more than others.

One area where I find the most difficulty is with purchasing anything over about 600 or 700 dollars, even if I need it.

I go into analysis paralysis and my decision anxiety pushes me to put it off till later, when I realize I should have just made the investment.

Specifically dealing with this on the note of buying a new computer. @tarazkp recently posted something similar that I felt to the core about buying a new one himself.

End result? I failed to pull the trigger again last night with 3 hours left on a sale. I'll do better next time I guess...

Thanks for commenting and sharing your experience!