When Work Kicks Your Butt!

in #ocd2 years ago

20220502_093737.jpg
First day on the job...

Working Again!!!

Sorry it has been a while since I posted, but if you have been following me then you know I recently started working again. The job is in a steel fabrication company and let me tell you, it is kicking my butt! That is frankly why I haven't posted in a while, I have simply been way too tired! Today however, a goose flew into a power line and took out the power to the shop, so I got a half day off, and paid at that! Seriously, true story, a goose...

20220502_085925.jpg
Moving big steel...

Yard work

So far I have been being trained mainly on running the overhead crane and moving the steel around the yard. We have some really big stuff in our yard and moving it around can be very dangerous. Thankfully, my bosses are all safety first and don't move too fast when they are training me. I mean, I would be safe no matter what, but it helps that they are like that, makes me feel good about the company, you know?

20220502_085941.jpg
Flying steel!

As you can see a lot of the stuff we work with is really big. We make structural components for large buildings. Moving them around takes large cranes and large chains. You have to do a lot of math to make sure you are within the safety ranges when moving things, and most importantly, you have to always be careful!

20220503_114816.jpg
Second day...

Rain!

My second day on the job was miserable. I was not prepared for the weather and was in the yard all day in the cold Michigan rain. By the end of the day I was sore, tired, and miserable. By the time I got home, I did not want to do anything but shower and go to bed, which is exactly what I did! The next day, my boss told me he was impressed that I showed up after the day before. I told him that I was not a quitter, and that is the truth! My job can be boring at times, but I will tell you what, they pay me well to be bored, so I am not going anywhere for the near future!

20220502_090230.jpg
Loading for one of the CNC cutting machines

And there you go...

So there you have it, the reason I have not posted in a while, and also what I am doing for a living now. I hope you enjoyed reading this and seeing the photos. I know it is not much as far as a post, but hey, it is exactly what I claimed it to be!

As Always, Thank You For Reading!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations on starting your new job and even more so for not quitting!

I work at a dockyard quite often with a half dozen or so cranes all lifting stuff all the time aboard ships in drydock.

12 hour shifts if I do. Right now, we are off such projects and are doing somewhat tame things on land.

Yeah... it's hard on me but I'm getting used to it! Thank you for commenting!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Looks like very hard, and dangerous work..Take care of yourself..!!..