#4 Drawing Taylor Swift using Graphite Pencil

in #ocd3 years ago

Hi it's me Rachelle, I lived in the province of Bulacan. I am a beginner on drawing but wanted to learn and able to draw decent drawings of anyone.

I am trying to teach myself and learned some techinques on drawing by watching tutorials online. When I do watching them how they did their drawing, I always see them using grid lines which I find and look like a cheat. Though I guess I cannot tell that it is a cheat 'cause right now I am convinced that using grid lines are great.

Lines are best guide for a balance sketch and I am thankful and glad that I give it a try to use grid. Though it may look like a cheat, the drawing and counting between the rows and columns are challenging. Yet these lines are helpful where exactly were gonna start and end. At first I find it unnatural . Drawing with boxes are quite strange and the fact that my hands are not used to do it too.

When I start to draw the left eye, I don't expect to see that it will look exactly like my reference. I also notice that using grid levels the exact location of the face details which I can't achieved everytime I did my drawing. I am still learning the shapes and angle of faces and head positions. In that matter using grids helps me.

20210420_105452.jpg

Though I haven't seen good result yet, I'd still continue to draw both of the eyes. Then I proceed to count downwards to locate the exact start of the nose. Then I draw the lips and I'm happy to see that the lip shape of Taylor looks the same on my drawing.

20210420_105347.png

I start to smudge some parts and blend using small brush. Blending stump wasn't good on my paper because it's rough so I made it sure that I will not over do the shading.

Drawing the hair is quite challenging also. I haven't tried to draw hair using smooth paper which I think is the perfect way tp achieve more realistic looks of it. No matter how I sketch layers of hair using HB and 4B pencils, I find it not realistic. I also do erase thinly the hair to create an illusion of contrast and shadow as well.

20210420_105126.jpg

So here's my drawing. I am satisfied that I was able to draw like this as a result of using grid. Hope you could find time to check it and encourage me as well. Thanks for reading my story today, keep safe everyone! ❤

20210420_103937.jpg

20210420_104253.jpg

20210417_191439.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @rachelleignacio! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 39000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

nice work on the drawing.

also, I think you should start posting to communities to maybe get a little more exposure. You should check out some of the communities in ocd's incubation program. i think you would find some interesting communities to subscribe to and post in.

Eres toda una artista saludos, OCD, reconce que tu publicacion, no fue bien Valorada, que bueno saludos

Gracias! 💕